We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality throughout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality throughout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Located near Tambo airport with a free pick up if required, this guesthouse is focused on providing a quality service for its guests.

Rooms are clean, food is good and the staff are willingly prepared to attend to the needs of guests. Dinner is available which is another plus.

An enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    199
    26
    0
    5
See reviews for
138
199
118
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

There are pros and cons to this property, so lets begin with the positives. The hotel is a very convenient 10 minute FREE transfer away from the Johannesburg International airport, and the guesthouse driver was very pleasant and polite. The rooms are very CLEAN and the beds are comfortable. Bathrooms have plenty of complimentary toiletries and showers are HOT and have good water pressure. The guesthouse staff were very helpful and friendly and are more than happy to answer any questions and make suggestions.

Unfortunately the guesthouse has its cons as well. Because of its close proximity to the airport, you will hear plenty of planes from 6am to 1am in the morning. Sadly the guesthouse rooms do not have double-paned window glass so for those who sleep lightly, you will have some trouble. Rooms have no separate bathroom, with the toilet, sink and shower ALL being a part of the guest room. I'm not sure how comfortable it would be with more than one person staying in the room.

A few suggestions would be to have a mini-bar fridge in the room for personal beverages, a personal safe in the room for valuables, a phone in your room for an emergency or to be able to contact the reception and a simple door sign to notify the housekeeping staff to refrain from trying to enter a room at 8:30am in the morning.

Overall the Sunrock Guesthouse is basic, safe, clean and close to the airport. What else do you look for in airport accommodation. Oh yeah, the breakfast is ok as well. Btw, the guesthouse has two resident dogs and a stunning Macaw parrot..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Sunrock for two days before we drove to our safari. The owners of sunrock are amazing people and so helpful! I would definitely stay there again. I can't say enough Sunrock. The rooms were clean, the food was good and we felt so welcome!

Room Tip: any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great value for money we were met from the airport and taken back next day for our onward flight. Breakfast was very good we were made to feel very welcome. Everyone very helpful and friendly. Even a small swimming pool if you have the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Wife and I stayed over night on our way to and from Kruger, The owners were very helpful took us to and. from the Airport, they made us feel as if we were at home, our room and all the facility's were very clean. we enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are staying in Joburg for a few hours due to a connecting flight (It was my case) Sunrock is definitely a great choice. Very close to OR Tambo airport (7 min. drive), airport shuttle service is available for free, WIFI available in the rooms, rooms are very clean and confortable and the staff very friendly.
I had a great south african braai and also great breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

They can't do enough for you. Great value for money and very pleasant stay. We were picked up at airport and dropped off at the guest house after a very long and tiring journey. Breakfast was lovely and we would have happily stayed longer if we hadn't already made alternative arrangements. Bed a little soft for our taste but we always liked hard beds!
Highly recommended, Although not the best area to stay in it has the advantage of being close to motorways etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.