We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to overnight close to OR Tambo airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
“Very good place to overnight close to OR Tambo airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The owners are very friendly, the atmosphere relaxing, and the rooms perfect to rest between two flights. There is also a convenient and safe parking. Transfers are on time and efficient. We recommend the Sun Rock Guest-house as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    199
    26
    0
    5
See reviews for
138
199
118
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great place for an overnight when at airport, great value with return airport transfer included.
Very friendly people, great barbecue dinner and lovely breakfast. Spacious room and comfy bed. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here 3 separate nights during a recent trip from the US. Everything was great- very friendly, very clean, and the supper buffet was excellent. Convenient to the airport. I look forward to my next visit.

JS
Chicago, IL

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here because of proximity to airport and free shuttle service. Shuttle service was late due to e-mail mix-up; phone call solved the problem. Hotel complex is walled-in so we felt safe and private. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Restaurant/bar had nice ambiance; buffet meal was excellent and very reasonably priced. Included breakfast was also very good and served in an elegantly furnished room. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely book again if over-nighting in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

In August I was travelling to Madagascar by myself to participate in a semester long study abroad program. As a young woman travelling internationally completely alone for the first time, I was very nervous when I realized I had to stay a night in Jo'berg. My Dad called ahead and immediately the owner answered the phone and arranged for someone to pick me up from the airport and return me there the next morning. I easily found my driver and he took me to Sunrock, where everyone was extremely nice and friendly towards me. Since the only room available was a double, they even gave me free dinner, a beer, and I got to play with their dog! The room was nice and very comfortable, had good wifi, TV, and I felt extremely safe the entire time. My only regret is that I didn't write this review earlier!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed one night whilst transiting through Jo'burg and were very satisfied. Our flight ran late but transfer was waiting for us. Secure location 10 minutes from the airport. Dinner and breakfast were wholesome and good servings. Other than a supermarket, not much nearby but was fine for us. Overall service was great, as was value for money. We would stay next time transiting through Jo'burg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Safe, Quiet, Relaxed and Friendly. The perfect stop before a late flight to England from Polokwane. Ina and Arthur were incredibly helpful, the staff friendly and the complementary breakfast and airport transfers were a bonus. The food was fantastic and the overall experience was a pleasant one. Convenient for anyone wishing to have a relaxed break from the Jo'burg/airport/travel hubbub! Many Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.