We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a layover!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Rochester, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
“Perfect for a layover!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After a 15-hour flight from US to Jo-Burg, the Sunrock Guesthouse was a welcome respite for our overnight stay before heading to our next flight to Durban the following morning. The staff met us at the airport and took us the short drive to the property. Once inside the fenced compound (the surrounding neighborhood was not one we felt was safe to explore) we immediately relaxed and enjoyed the lush grounds, pool, and wonderful tiki hut. The staff also prepared a family-style buffet meal that we shared with other guests. Such a homey and welcoming feeling to South Africa, and a lovely break in our long journey. The rooms were clean, modern, comfortable, not fancy, but perfect for our needs! Breakfast the next morning was also very nice, and the ride back to the airport efficient and quick. All around, a great experience and my other two single travel mates, all in their early 50's, also were very pleased with the Sunrock Guesthouse. I'll recommend this to anyone who asks...and the value (vs. staying at the Intercontinental as we had originally planned!) was clearly present. Staff friendly too. Thanks, Sunrock, for a lovely welcome to SA!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    179
    25
    0
    5
See reviews for
124
188
111
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here twice in transit from NZ to/from Tanzania. Ina was happy to let us hire the room for just the day from early morning on our way home, so we didn't have to wait at the airport in transit for 9hrs. Ina and her husband run a very friendly, homely establishment. They provide free airport transfers and the airport is only 5-10mins away, so very handy if you're in transit. The food is really good traditional South African and the bar and pool area is very nice. The rooms are comfortable, well presented and well equipped. Overall a really nice place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Close to the airport, this friendly and comfortable guesthouse is a great place to stay. We were welcomed at the airport and driven to the guest house (less than 10 minutes). Check in was easy and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Free wifi worked well. Dinner was excellent in a relaxed atmosphere in the outdoor bar area. We met some fellow travelers and had some fine conversation. The trip back to the airport was also seamless. We enjoyed it enough to stay again a week later during another stop-over near the airport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just the best stay for our purposes, an overnighter after a long haul on route to Brazil from Australia. Free pick-up and return to airport by the driver, Lewis, was a good start as we were tired and didn't want to look for transport. Although the airport is close nearby it was not noisy at night. We were treated to an excellent brai dinner (sirloin steaks, roast potatoes, good salad), had a spacious room with a good shower, good mattress and a great breakfast. Hosts Ina and Arthur are very welcoming, pleasant and helpful. Nice lounging area with a good pool. This is the place if you're budgeting and want quality, easy transport to and from the airport, and a chance to unwind.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastically run place.

From the free pickup at the airport, spotless rooms, wonderful pool, fabulous bbq, courtesy breakfast and free drop off back at the airport this place that Ina and Arthur run is an impecable operation.

Cannot be faulted and excellent value for money.

Definately recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

There is noisy loud music blaring from surrounds, walls are so thin you can hear people coughing in the adjacent room, and the flights are going past every 15 min. The rooms are ok and clean although there's no door to the toilet which forms part of the bedroom. The only good thing is the airport pick-up but rather stay in an airport hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Booked this guesthouse because it was conveniently situated close to the airport, perfect for one night before returning home. Not expensive but I was surprized that it was so nice, comfortable, clean and modern room and bathroom. Personal service from Ina and Arthur with staff, felt like home. Good food, honesty bar. Also free transfer to and from airport and to and from the train station when I wanted to spend a couple of hours shopping in Rosebank.
Sunrock Guesthouse is a place where it feels natural to present yourself to the other guests and chat a bit. I never feel inclined to do that in an ordinary hotel.
Even though it is so close to the airport the sound from the planes were not irritating. I could absolutely stay there for longer time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.