We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Portland, Oregon, Usa
1 review
“Unexpected excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My brother's travel plans changed late, and I found myself needing to spend a unplanned night in J'burg on the way to Swaziland. After a quick search I found Sunrock, and rather than just a place to spend a night found a destination in and of itself. The rooms were above and beyond expectation, service fantastic, and the dinners a great chance to enjoy some excellent food and meet people from all over. On top of it all wifi allowed me to remain connected. Definitely will be back next time I have a night in J'burg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    172
    25
    0
    5
See reviews for
121
186
110
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you don't want to stay within the immediate vicinity of the airport, and are looking for a cheaper alternative, then we can recommend Sunrock. The owners were friendly, the room was clean and well sized. We had to wait a few minutes for the shuttle service, arriving early evening, and the shuttle service back to the airport at 430am the next day was fine. It is not the kind of place with lots to walk to in immediate area, it is a gated accommodation, so if you are just looking to sleep, it is fine. It does have a nice restaurant/eating/bar area by the pool. We could not get the wireless internet to work with the access code given, but were too tired to worry about it. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pfalz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

the location is really perfect for one or two nights near Joburg. it ist close to the airport, the staff and owner are very very helpful and friendly.
Thanks very much for your held with printing boarding pass and organising a city tour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night prior to flight departure. Situation is ok, the neighborhood is a bit shabby but no issues to relate. We got lost when arriving by car, we called and Arthur came straight over to show us the way. Arthur and his wife are very friendly and I must say this really lightens up the place. The room we stayed at was at the entrance, it was clean and well cared. We thought it would be noisy, but we slept through the night and the alarm clock woke us up. The diner warmly proposed is good, though a bit pricy. Morning Breakfast is plentifull and helps you start a good day. I recommand the stay which gives a more human touch to hotels that are more impersonnal.

Room Tip: Room at the entrance is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very comfortable, friendly, relaxed guesthouse.
Good food, even organised sandwiches for family arriving late at night from airport.
Nice friendly welcome.
Will stay again when picking up from airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights before picking up a tour of South Africa. It was a great hotel with lovely ambience, spacious clean and well appointed rooms and hosts who really know what excellent customer service is. We had great breakfasts and dinners in their grounds, free pick up and drop off at the airport and they helped organise a sighseeing trip for us. We felt like part of the family andnothing was too mmuch trouble for them. I thoroughtly recommend this hotel and it was great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having read all the reviews we decided to stay at Sunrock Guesthouse on our last night in ZA in February , and we were not dissapointed...
You know that some people run business `s proffesionaly but without that something called wow..
The owners here provide a proffesional service whilst making your stay an occasion.
Rooms are large with freash white crispy sheets on very comfortable beds . Our room was very clean , with NO noise after 22.00 hours . An honesty bar is provided with a brie dinner and a great breakfast. What more could you want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.