We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for airport stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Kempton Park
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great option for airport stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived late at night at the Jo'berg airport and were met promptly by our driver. Guesthouse was very short distance away. We arrived after Reception had closed but our room was ready for us; clean, no noticeable noise and a nice night's sleep. We also left before Reception opened but checkout was not a problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    150
    23
    0
    5
See reviews for
112
165
96
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ideal choice for a short stopover after arriving late at the airport. We were picked up right on time and the five minute journey to the Sumrock was easy. The room was perfect for what we needed and the fact that we overslept and missed breakfast was no problem for the Sunrock staff - we were asked what we'd like and it was cooked for us straight away. All in all a perfect choice for us

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Before I say anything else about Sunrock, I want to say this: Arthur and Ina are awesome! They were both great to chat with, especially Arthur with his safari stories. They were SO welcoming and friendly and they both very much went out of their way to be helpful, wonderful hosts.

For instance, we stayed the night here and then our flight out was at 8pm that next day. They had no problem letting us check out of our room late, hang out at the pool that whole day, and then getting us to the airport. Even more: we had a couple of friends staying down the road at another property. Not only were they enthusiastically invited to join us for dinner, but Arthur arranged transportation for them back to their hotel that evening AND invited them to hang out at the pool & bar with us the whole next day no problem. Third example: We wanted to order a pizza at lunch but didn't have cash. Ina placed the order for us, paid for it, and then charged the amount to our room so we could use a credit card. Little things that other places would never do but made a huge impression on me and ended up African trip on a high note.

Anyway, aside from the amazing hospitality, our room was clean and spacious...and the per night rate was very reasonable. The honor bar area was comfy and fun to look around and included a pool table and two working computers with Internet (which was awesome after almost a month with no online access). Great pool to lounge beside. And a couple of chubby dogs and a parrot to keep an eye out for!

As a big fan of eating, I'd be crazy if I didn't mention the food. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious! At dinner, there were these fantastic pumpkin dumpling thingys that were to die for...drool. (Very poor description, I know but just trust me on this one.) We unfortunately left before the BBQ dinner that evening but I heard from our friends that it was also amazing.

Even though the area seems to get a little sketchy due to close proximity to the airport, I felt very safe at Sunrock. I would 100% stay at Sunrock again and would recommend it to anyone in the Joburg area.

Room Tip: There are a few different room options so perhaps inquire upon booking. Some rooms are large and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a one night stop-over in this lovely guest house which is only ten minutes from the airport. It was great to spend a chilled afternoon by the pool and bar after two weeks of travelling and before setting out on the next phase of our African experience. Heather was very helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were clean, spacious and comfortable. They also cook in the evening if you don't want the hassle of going out. Very convenient.
This is definitely worth a visit, I will certainly go back if I ever get the chance to return to South Africa.

Room Tip: Our room was out the back overlooking the lawn, very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have stayed at Sunrock four different times. Twice I got a good, spacious room and a real bathroom with a bathtub and twice a very small room with a thin sliding "door" separating the room and bathroom. This makes it a bit difficult to make a review since I have two very different experiences. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, covers and pillows however. Nice pool. The staff are very friendly (and make a really good BBQ) and mostly helpful. One of the rooms I had was very cold and the wifi didn't reach. It is close to the airport, which do come with some noice from the airplanes. A driver from sunrock picked us up at the airport when we arrived - very convenient! We also got dropped off at the airport but we got there so late that we had to run all the way to our gate to catch our plane. So make sure you leave in time!

Overall it is an affordable place where it is great to stay for a night after/before your flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fantastic place for a stopover for my daughter and I for a night before catching a connecting flight. Arthur and Ina are the perfect hosts. We were personally welcomed, booking was extermely efficient and all communication answered promptly. Would highly recommend as a place to stay as an alternative to the big hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Such A beautiful elegant place... Close to all amenities yet so quiet, peaceful, friendly staff, good food et al..Highly recommend it to anyone staying over in Johannesburg,business wise or in Transit. This is a perfect home from home

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park
Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.