We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Johannesburg Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Johannesburg Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at Sunrock Guest House on the first day and last day of our 3-week holiday to South Africa. If you are going to spend a few days seeing the sights in Johannesburg or are simply looking for a stop over from the airport, Sunrock is a great place to stay. The driver (Hennie) was very reliable in picking us up or dropping us off at the airport, which is only a 5 minute drive away. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is safe. There can be a bit of car and airplane noise at night, but that is to be expected given the fact that it is in the middle of a major city near the airport. We ate one dinner at the guesthouse and it was excellent. We only saw other tourists (mostly American and a delightful Spanish couple). Overall it was a great experience staying at Sunrock.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    202
    27
    0
    5
See reviews for
142
204
122
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband Tom and I, along with our friends Shawn and Jen spent a night at the guesthouse on our way from Kruger National Park, to our next stop in Botswana. We weren't sure what to expect but the hosts were friendly and accommodating, the grounds lovely and the rooms spacious and very clean and comfortable. We had the added bonus of a fantastic dinner made by our host for a very reasonable cost. Hand cut steaks with numerous sidedishes and even dessert. Breakfast the next morning was also a great bonus. Our host also drove us to the airport the next morning. We would highly recommend this spot for anyone needing a place to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Sheva, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Sunrock Guesthouse is a lovely place to stay for travelers wanting a place near the Johannesburg international airport. The Johnsons are welcoming hosts and do everything to make one's stay comfortable, including pick up/drop off at the airport. We had breakfast and dinner at the guest house and both were carefully prepared and tasty. We were able to keep our room for the day which was much appreciated because our flights were in the evening. Much more enjoyable than the sterile atmosphere of most hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lysaker, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at Sunrock on our way from Kruger Park to
Livingstone and when we came back after having survived
an armed robbery where two were shot dead.

On the more prosaic side; Sunrock is perfectly located close to the airport,
the rooms are very good, the hosts very helpful, they pick
you up and bring you to/fro the airport and take you to surrounding
places if you want to go outside for lunch or dinner. Which is not
necessary as their kitchen is great as well. And frequently they
arrange a barbecue for their guests.

However, when we came back from our close-to-death ordeal
in Zambia we were met at the airport, helped and taken care
of in every possible way. As we were family. Their driver is even a retired
pastor and prayed for us. We are short of words to recommend a fantistic place.

We can only say thank you so much to everyone at Sunrock.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have mixed thoughts on this guesthouse, it was an interesting experience.
- first, we had given them our flight info in advance, and they were not there at the airport. Granted, I had bugged my husband about reconfirming a day or 2 in advance, we he never got a chance, but they later stated we never sent it, and that is not true.
- It is not the most quiet place. Though, I think after 10 pm, it did get more quiet, but before then the other guests coming and going in cars and randomly knocking on our door looking for people
- we were a couple on vacation, having a layover in Joburg. The other guests seemed like all workers/ businessmen- and so the interaction was pretty nil. The businessmen stuck together, the workers in their group, and we felt out of place
- if you have an early flight, the price of an early ride to the airport might cancel out what savings you did have by staying here.

The room was very spacious, nice shower, comfortable bed. The dinner was delicious even though the atmosphere was not. The place seems very nice with nicely decorated yard, but the pool is freezing

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After a long 32 hours of travelling this was an absolute saviour! Great people, rooms exceeded expectations and food was fab!

Room Tip: My room faced a nice grassy area rather than other rooms and was away from the lapa (where people ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our stay in sunrock overnight was a luxury visit that rounded off the end of a fabntastic trip. Owners very welcoming and the food was fantastic!! reccommended highly!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.