We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY Place to Stay in Jo'burg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The ONLY Place to Stay in Jo'burg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

I just returned from a 5-week journey to South Africa. Based on earlier reviews on TA I chose the Sunrock Guesthouse for my first night in the country. I also stayed there my last night before returning home on October 10, 2011. In my view there is simply no other place to stay in Jo'Burg and especially near the airport. The price for the accomodation is the best you will find in the airport area. Request a pick up at the airport on your arrival and Henry will be there with a smile on his face to welcome you. Arrive at the Sunrock and Ina will welcome you while her husband Arthur will begin telling stories of South African lore and adventure and he will do so with his huge Scarlet Macaw attached to his shoulder. You can also purchase an evening meal for a little more than the B and B price and the well stocked bar has several libations to quench your thirst. I felt completely safe and very much at "home" during both of my stays here. If you have a departure flight later in the day you can hang out in the pool or just lounge around in one of the beach chairs. On your return to the airport Henry will be there with the van ready to take you to your flight whenever you need to go. This was my first trip to South Africa and I couldn't have chosen a better place to start or end the journey. I think you will feel the same way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    199
    26
    0
    5
See reviews for
139
201
120
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We spent 1 night here due to a flight shuffle and enjoyed our experience. The family who runs the place is very friendly and warm and they make it a home away from home. We took the option of the BBQ dinner at the lodge – also cooked by the family and really enjoyed chatting with the other guests, most of whom are repeat visitors. The lodge is just a few minutes from JNB airport and they offer a free pickup and dropoff service there. I would stay there again if I needed accommodation near the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were there twice, each time for one night in a double unit with dinner, bed & breakfast. We did not need anything more in Johannesburg but to spend a few hours and a night after & before an air flight. Guesthouse is close to airport and transfer is included. We liked meal, clean rooms and friendly staff. We felt safe there. They have a nice garden. For those who are looking for some activities in the city maybe ilocation is not so good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The area surrounding Jo'burg airport is not the nicest and Sunrock provided us with a warm welcome in a secure surrounding for our one night stopover.

Our room was clean and comfortable, but I certainly would not want to stay here for an extended period since it does have drawbacks: no door to the toilet, little sound insulation, kitchen smells came straight into our room etc.

Overall: great value for money, especially when considering the free airport transfers and would consider staying there again for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Sunrock guest house has a number of advantages: it's five minutes from Johannesburg Airport, they provide airport pickup and delivery, it's clean, the beds are very comfortable, the people who own (and run) it could not be nicer or more helpful, and it's very reasonably priced for its location. So what's not so great: the breakfast is ample but not great, they offer only instant coffee (for this American a major flaw, but not unique in South Africa), and while they offer three sport channels on tv, there's not one of news (also not unique in South Africa). All that said, my wife and I stayed there three times during our visit to South Africa and we'd stay there again if our schedule called for us to be near the airport.

Room Tip: Request one of the 2-bed rooms, they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The staff here are warm and welcoming, and very helpful and accommodating, with friendly and timely transport to and from the airport. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the double room had a wonderful large bathroom. The breakfast and dinner were both exceptional. I would stay here whenever possible!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Beautiful setting and great service, the owner arranged for a shuttle service to pick us up at Joburg airport and this all went smoothly. He was friendly and helpful (we travelled with 2 little kids)
We had an excellent cooked breakfast in the morning, you can't miss it!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought it was excellent value if you have to spend 1 night near Tambo International Airport.
.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.