We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay between flights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrock Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Sunrock Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrock Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay between flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The airport transfers were great and so were the home-cooked dinner and breakfast. Our room was fine- (only thing, no door between bedroom and bathroom, which was a bit odd). Heating panel in room, but no central heat- although I imagine that this is only an issue for a month or two during winter and it seems like a lot of places in South Africa were unheated. Plenty of blankets, hot water, could buy wifi access, have a drink by the fireplace in the bar/community area. Very friendly and great location- seemed quite safe. Great place for overnight near the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    172
    25
    0
    5
See reviews for
121
186
110
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I went here with a group of students. We were on our way to Mozambique to do research in the gold mines. Arthur and his wife made our one-night stay very comfortable and luxurious. They cooked us delicious steak, served with scrumptious mushroom sauce, veggies, potatoes, and a variety of juices. Our accommodations were very comfortable and functional. This was definitely one of the finest and most memorable places we stayed during our three-week trip in Africa.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We traveled Africa with a group of 8 students with a 14 hour, overnight layover in Johannesburg. Sunrock is super convenient to the airport and the provided transportation was excellent, on time, and free.

I made all the arrangements with Ina via email from the States. Every email I sent was answered promptly and courteously. Dinner was superb, nice little bar and pool area. I wish I had more time to stay and enjoy it longer.

The rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. Overall, an excellent value with great owners who know how to take care of their customers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at this guesthouse one night and everything was wonderful. Started with an on-time and friendly pick-up at the airport by Arthur. 10 minute drive and we were at the property. The owners are wonderful people and prepare an awesome BBQ for dinner, well worth the price. Beautiful room, comfortable beds. Low airport/airplane noise. Small fee for internet.

Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCArea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at Sunrock Guesthouse as we had an overnight stay in Johannsburg. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating. They offered dinner at an extra cost, but we chose pizza instead and they took care of ordering. Had a cute area with pool table, dinner tables, large bar and fire place for the guests. Also had a macaw and African Grey, which I loved! Bathrooms looked like they were recently renovated. Room was a bit chilly tough. We would recommend staying here for your layover in Johannsburg!

Barbara and Danny.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Good nice reliable guesthouse, pickup/drop-offs worked very good. the driver had to wait 1 hour 30 minutes for because of lost luggage, and the was still extremely friendly. The hosts are great, food is good, both the breakfast as the dinner (dinner is an optional extra). Only 5 min. from the airport. The only disadvantage is that you have to pay for the internet. I recommend the guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My friend and I only stayed for 1 night, but within those 10 hours we experinced a genuine honest service. A host who really cared for his guests and took that responsibility very serious arranging taxi, good traveling etc. Our stayed peaked in panic when I in the airport had lost my passport, and out of the blue like an angel Arthur, the host, appeared among hundreds of travellers with a great smile on his face and my passport in his hands. Sublime service, never to be forgotten.
Gert Nielsen, Denmark.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrock Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrock Guesthouse

Address: 11 Park Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrock Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrock Guesthouse is a highly recommended guest house in Kempton Park situated in a quiet, peaceful area north-east of Johannesburg, which offers superior comfort and service. Our Guesthouse is centrally situated and is a superb base for enjoying Gauteng and exploring the rest of South Africa. It is only 4km from O.R Tambo International Airport, and 10 minutes from either the Festival Mall in Kempton Park or East Rand Mall in Boksburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunrock Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrock Guesthouse Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrock Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.