We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Washington State
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Convenient to the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located just across the freeway from the airport, perhaps a 10 minute ride. Not walkable. You can catch a free shuttle at the transit area that runs to and from the airport every half hour. We were assigned to a room at 10:00PM that had not yet been cleaned and were then sent to a handicapped room which was all that was available at that time of night. Fortunately that room was clean and we had a good sleep. Breakfast is a nice buffet that is apparently set up for tour groups and included in their room rate. We were travelling on our own and so breakfast was not included and they had no separate menu for those of us who just wanted a light breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Nan2010

We appreciate your feedback and comments posted on TripAdvisor.

The close proximity to the airport, as well as the complimentary scheduled shuttles, is very convenient for travellers.

It is disappointing to hear of your experience when checking into your room. You should have been welcomed by a clean room immediately. I am glad that the STAFF was able to move you to an alternative room where you could get some rest.

The breakfast setup is standard every morning and if it is not included in the rate, GUESTS are welcome to sign it to the room and settle at check out.

Thank you and please visit us when next in Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    237
    86
    32
    11
See reviews for
41
195
65
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Booking was confirmed, first room had however a air conditioner problem so I was asked to move to another room. Room service food ordered through the bar restaurant was really top quality and on time! Compared with other Protea hotels, not making my top list though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Easyref

An average experience is certainly not we aim to provide and I am extremely sorry that you felt this way. I will be sharing your feedback with the TEAM to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

However, it is still positive that you enjoyed the room service and its speedy arrival.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience directly. You can contact me at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service. So handy if you're transiting through Jo'berg or have an early out or late flight in. Staff were really nice, room was clean and tidy, worth the money and very convenient! Food was good to. The airport transfer is extremely handy. If you are coming out of arrivals ignore the well dressed people telling you to follow them, they're dodgy. Go to the information desk to get the directions for the transfer bus!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear katsmi12

What a fantastic review, Thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor.

There is no doubt that our location is extremely convenient for travelers arriving late or leaving early. I am pleased that in addition to our location, the STAFF was so friendly.

The chef and TEAM know the importance of a full tank for travels, work or sightseeing. They will be thrilled that you enjoyed their delicious creations so much.

All airport personnel are aware of the transfers that we offer and will gladly point GUESTS in the right direction.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we booked a night with the hotel on 'wotif' and were told when we arrived that we had no booking even though i had my confirmation paperwork etc with me. the staff showed no interest at all and we were handed over to 3 different staff members, each as hopeless as the last. after 45 minutes they told me i had to pay for another room and that they would match the rate of the booking that had 'never been received'. of course the so called matched price was higher & didn't include breakfast...they fixed this...or so i thought. upon checkout they tried to charge for the free breakfast so this was another 15 minute wait to get the bill adjusted. i might add that the breakfast serving was not ready anyway so we left eating very little.
Overall, the worst hotel experience ever. i would also add that during our very long wait at check in i was astounded at the number of people that had issues with their bill on checkout. of the 5 people i saw check out 4 had 'extras' that appeared on their bill that had to be taken off.
this was a very poor welcome to South Africa. or first night in and we felt like we had been ripped off.
there are many other hotel options at the airport & i would suggest try any but this one.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear mark h

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay.

It is extremely disappointing to hear of your experience and please accept my sincere apologies; this is certainly not the standard of service we are usually so proud to offer.

I would like to assure you that I have sat with the entire TEAM to discuss your comments and we will be liaising with all relevant parties to ensure that this does not occur again.

Your feedback is valuable and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. You can contact me directly at gm@phortambo.com.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Room lovely, and surprisingly quiet given view of highway and airport. Staff didn't communicate breakfast not included until after it had been eaten and I had returned to my room. Restaurant staff assured me it was included... Shuttle from airport overcrowded, and left many guests waiting. For the price, stay at one of the hotels attached to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear pmc81

Thank you for your valuable feedback. It will assist us with our ongoing search for excellence and ability to provide the best GUEST service.

I am extremely sorry for the miscommunication which caused your frustration. This is an unacceptable error, which will be attended to with all STAFF.

I am however please that you found the room to peaceful and quiet.

We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent one night here before starting our South African tour. Really liked it, lovely pool area (although it was too cold to use it ). Bedrooms spacious with an unusual open plan shower . Although it was beside the airport our rooms were at the back and were very quiet. The bed was very comfortable with lovely crisp bed linen.We had a buffet dinner for 150 rand( approx £10) There wasn't much choice but it was all very tasty . Nice Buffet breakfast in the morning .
There was free internet up to 500mb per day in the rooms and it worked well .
The only negative was that the reception staff seemed a bit disorganized and took a long time to get us our rooms .

Room Tip: get room at back to avoid airport noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear holidayseeker

It’s a pity you weren’t able to use the pool as it is still winter in South Africa. However, I hope that your next trip will be in the summer and then the sun will be shining.

Peace and quiet is a must when getting rest and I am happy your rooms provided this for you. Ofcourse, the comfortable and crisp linen helped as well.

I apologise for your disappointment with the dinner buffet and the slow check in. This is certainly not we are usually proud to offer and will be addressed with the TEAM immediately.

I hope that you had an amazing trip to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The room and service were awesome. The food was exceptionally good. Very modern with a sorta warehouse feel to the decor (rubber tires and metal and crates incorporated into the decor in an artistic and creative way). Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear mariewalsh9

We don’t want to be a boring hotel and the designers were very creative with the décor. The tires and crates definitely create that aviation feel. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

Awesome is definitely a word I like to hear when GUESTS are referring to service and rooms. Our search for excellence is ongoing and your feedback will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.