We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy Airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Handy Airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent one night here before starting our South African tour. Really liked it, lovely pool area (although it was too cold to use it ). Bedrooms spacious with an unusual open plan shower . Although it was beside the airport our rooms were at the back and were very quiet. The bed was very comfortable with lovely crisp bed linen.We had a buffet dinner for 150 rand( approx £10) There wasn't much choice but it was all very tasty . Nice Buffet breakfast in the morning .
There was free internet up to 500mb per day in the rooms and it worked well .
The only negative was that the reception staff seemed a bit disorganized and took a long time to get us our rooms .

Room Tip: get room at back to avoid airport noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear holidayseeker

It’s a pity you weren’t able to use the pool as it is still winter in South Africa. However, I hope that your next trip will be in the summer and then the sun will be shining.

Peace and quiet is a must when getting rest and I am happy your rooms provided this for you. Ofcourse, the comfortable and crisp linen helped as well.

I apologise for your disappointment with the dinner buffet and the slow check in. This is certainly not we are usually proud to offer and will be addressed with the TEAM immediately.

I hope that you had an amazing trip to South Africa.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    270
    94
    38
    11
See reviews for
43
219
72
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The room and service were awesome. The food was exceptionally good. Very modern with a sorta warehouse feel to the decor (rubber tires and metal and crates incorporated into the decor in an artistic and creative way). Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear mariewalsh9

We don’t want to be a boring hotel and the designers were very creative with the décor. The tires and crates definitely create that aviation feel. Be sure to try out the flight simulator next time you stay with us.

Awesome is definitely a word I like to hear when GUESTS are referring to service and rooms. Our search for excellence is ongoing and your feedback will motivate the STAFF to continue achieving these high standards.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would not recommend a weeks stay at the hotel but for a transit it is more than fine.
Not an amazing deal, but very acceptable and friendly staff and good food.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. It is only 5 mins from airport and a shuttle bus runs most hours

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Lisa E

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. It is important to us that all our GUESTS feel this way. In addition, I will congratulate the STAFF on their friendly service and ability to create a warm environment.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed a night at two different hotels near the Tambo Airport on a recent trip to South Africa, the Protea and the City Lodge. Both were very good but I slightly prefer this one, the Protea. Protea had a nicer room, more comfortable bed, better shower, and a better view. The only advantage to City Lodge is that it is basically in the airport, you never have to walk outside. (Also, City Lodge is fine on all those amenities, just not quite as good as Protea.) For the Protea, you do have to catch a shuttle, which leaves every 30 minutes and is about a 10 minute ride. Restaurant at the Protea was good, not great, but fine for hotel standards. (I did not eat at City Lodge). The only annoyance that I would report regarding the Protea is that when you board the shuttle at the airport, there are guys hanging out who jump in to move your bag literally two feet by placing it in the luggage trailer of the shuttle, and then they expect a tip. So if you can hang onto your bag and put it in yourself, more power to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear travelerBobDc

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to know that you found our beds to be comfortable and that the shower met your expectations. Offering a variety of quality amenities in all the rooms is one way we go above and beyond the average airport hotel.

We are not within walking distance if the hotel, but our complimentary shuttle is convenient and a short ride to the hotel.

Until next time, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We flew in late at night and immediately got the van for the hotel. the room was a welcome respite after a long flight from the States. Breakfast was fine but their dinners were superb for an airport hotel. The staff was wonderful and very helpful since KLM lost our luggage and we needed some assistance. The staff made a difficult situation a little more bearable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear infla

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community.

As many of our GUESTS have been travelling, we make sure that our rooms have all the amenities needed and a comfortable bed to catch up on some rest. Your welcomed respite certainly reflects our commitment to this area.

Losing luggage is certainly not the greatest thing to happen, I am pleased that the STAFF was able to ensure that this did not affect you too much and offered assistance where needed.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Got bumped off our flight so my family stayed here for one night. Turned out to be a very nice stay indeed. Couldn't fault the place, very chic different style which we liked, very clean modern, excellent staff and service. Restaurant very good as was the food. Bar very nice place to chill as was outside even ! Not the bustle and lack of attention that you can get at busy airport hotels so even though we missed our flight we had a very pleasant stay and would highly recommend. Even have a free shuttle to airport, well done !

Room Tip: all seem really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Lovetravel59

Thank you for giving us “5 out of 5” for your recent stay with us. I am happy that we were able to accommodate you after you had problems with your flight.

We aim for every GUEST to enjoy a faultless stay and I will commend the TEAM for their great work. It is our aim to go above and beyond the average airport hotel offering and it is pleasing to hear that we are delivering this.

I hope all went well with the rest of your trip and flights.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed two nights prior to a safari. Great shuttle from/to the airport. Shuttle location at the airport is easy to find just past the Intercontinental Hotel. Rooms are clean/quiet. Buffet breakfast was very good and dinner was moderately priced and quite good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear ifiwereu

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

Our complimentary shuttle, which runs to and from the airport every half an hour from 04h00 to 22h30, is an added bonus and saves GUESTS from hiring a car.

The chef and TEAM are continuously sourcing the freshest produce so they can create wholesome and tasty meals. They will certainly be delighted when I share your positive comments about the buffet meals you enjoyed.

I hope you enjoyed your safari.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.