We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Hotel excelent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Duesseldorf
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Wonderfull Hotel excelent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here only one night and it was great we had a nice Clean Room and the service of the Hotel staff is fantastic dont forget to try the Breakfast there is everything you can think about and take a look at the wonderfull Pool !

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Special thanks to Owen for the special Service !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear B707

With ‘wonderful’ and ‘excellent’ in a title, how could I not be happy? Thank for your great feedback and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

The STAFF never seize to amaze me with their positive attitudes and continuous efforts to offer the best GUEST service. I will definitely be congratulating them for their ongoing commitment and I will make a special mention to Owen.

Breakfast is important to kick start the day and I am very pleased that the Chef and TEAM offer such a wide spread of fresh produce.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    225
    80
    28
    10
See reviews for
37
183
59
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Comfortable hotel close to the airport, for transit passengers, as I am when I use it, but still far enough away, even when you can see the planes. Staff are friendly and efficient and always there to assist.
The shuttle service to and from the hotel every 30mins, makes waiting at either the airport or the hotel easy and drivers are all friendly.
The bar and restaurant are a talking point of their own, what with bar stools made of air craft tyres piled up. There are air craft bits on crates all adding to the vibe.
I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear geomun

Thank you for your review and for capturing the essence of our unique location near the airport.

The STAFF are the heart of the hotel and their friendly, helpful approach makes me very proud to be part of the TEAM.

We offer an experience from the minute you walk in the door, especially with the aviation theme that you mentioned.

I am glad that the complimentary shuttle was of use to you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I thought this hotel was fantastic, we just stayed here for 1 night to catch an early flight the next day. It's very close to the airport, in fact you can see it from the terminal. They provide a free shuttle service which we used to and from the airport and was on time with both journeys. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms very spacious with all the mod cons and nice flat screen TV. We ordered room service and the food was great. I can't recommend this hotel enough, the best airport hotel I've stayed in. Most airport hotels are usually pretty soulless but this place is great, and good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear LondonRomey

What a spectacular review and I am so proud of the TEAM for providing the excellent service we strive to achieve. Not only do we set ourselves apart with our unique aviation décor, but with the attention to detail which you experienced. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Being able to view the airport from the hotel and not be disturbed by the noise is a huge plus when using us for a stopover.

I am so pleased that our room service met your requirements and I will commend the chef & TEAM on their efforts.

We look forward to your next stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Would definitely stay at this hotel again - great price, friendly staff and nice rooms.

As soon as we approached the front desk, we were met with Charles' beaming smile and greeting which made us feel at ease immediately. We knew we had made the right decision with staying at the Protea OR Tambo Airport Hotel

The hotel has an airplane theme and it's very well done with the decorations.

The evening buffet was very reasonably priced at R$150 with a decent selection of food items. It was also refreshing to receive a complimentary bottle of water at dinner. The waiters also seemed quite familiar with the wines and they have a very nice Pinotage available by the glass.

The beds were comfy and while quite close to the airport, it was not noisy at all and we slept well.

After a little snafu with leaving something at the room, the staff was also helpful in trying to fix our challenge.

Room Tip: We faced the airport and had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear sdchick1027

I am a firm believer in setting the best first impression and your review put a smile on my face. It is humbling to hear that the STAFF continues to express their passion for what they do and create outstanding GUEST experiences.

Getting a good night’s rest whilst travelling is really important and we are only too happy to provide a quiet room and cozy bed.

Until your next visit we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This aviation-themed hotel surpasses all expectations of a bland, boring airport hotel. The super-friendly, smiley staff create a really cool vibe, and the odd aircraft bits and pieces – bent propellers, air-cooled radial engines, old aeroplane tyres and enormous aviation maps of Jo’burg and Cape Town as floor coverings in the reception and restaurant areas – really make the place feel special.

The rooms are modern and quite spacious, with a large glass bathroom and separate toilet – the only thing I’d say against them is that there’s no light-switches near the bed, so you have to get out of bed to turn off the lights…

The restaurant is very good value, with a nice buffet and inexpensive but good wine. There is also a free shuttle bus from the airport, as you’d expect. All in all, this is a very good hotel – not just a very good airport hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Keith R

I love how you have described the hotel! This embraces the exact feeling and experience we intend for our GUESTS to have when they stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

The aviation theme and décor sets the scene and just like you said, the STAFF create a friendly and warm environment to top it all off.

I will be sure to mention your enjoyment in the restaurant to the Chef and TEAM, which will only inspire them to continue searching for excellence.

We do our best to offer exceptional GUEST service and the complimentary shuttle is just one way of doing that.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This clean, modern, hotel is less than 5 minutes from the OR Tambo Airport with complimentary shuttle. On-site amenities include a sports bar and restaurant, swimming pool and workout facilities. Complimentary coffee is always available in the lobby and a meal plan is available with your room. An outdoor courtyard provides a comfortable setting to relax. Internet access is available in all rooms with public Ipads available in common area near the lounge. Mid-priced, the Protea is an excellent hotel to layover in Joburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Rudder H

It was such a pleasure reading your review and very humbling at the same time. We set the bar very high and it is reassuring to hear that we are on the right track to reaching our goal.

Being close to the OR Tambo Airport, along with the shuttles, is perfect for a short layover or extended business stay. Just like you said, one can even relax in the outside courtyard alongside the pool.

We understand the importance of access to the internet and I am delighted that this suited your needs.

Thank you so much for your comments and recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had found a great deal on the website of the hotel for my 3-nights layover in Jo'burg. To my pleasant surprise it was also a great deal as accomodation and surroundings go. I was worrried that the rooms would be noisy so close to the airport but as my room was on the parking side away from the airport I could sleep peacefully even with the windows open. My room was good, the restaurant and bar area fine, the swimming pool a pleasure. In addition all staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful sleep even with the windows open aske for a room overlooking the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Nossim

A pleasant surprise is definitely what GUESTS can find at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. With unique aviation décor and close location to the airport, what more could one ask for?

We have done our best to ensure that the rooms are protected from the noise and it is delightful to receive such positive feedback on your comfortable and peaceful night’s sleep.

I will commend the STAFF on their friendly and helpful service. They are continuously striving to achieve excellence and provide all with the best GUEST service.

Thank you for posting a review and I hope you have a safe trip home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;