We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short stopover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short stopover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I thought this hotel was fantastic, we just stayed here for 1 night to catch an early flight the next day. It's very close to the airport, in fact you can see it from the terminal. They provide a free shuttle service which we used to and from the airport and was on time with both journeys. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms very spacious with all the mod cons and nice flat screen TV. We ordered room service and the food was great. I can't recommend this hotel enough, the best airport hotel I've stayed in. Most airport hotels are usually pretty soulless but this place is great, and good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear LondonRomey

What a spectacular review and I am so proud of the TEAM for providing the excellent service we strive to achieve. Not only do we set ourselves apart with our unique aviation décor, but with the attention to detail which you experienced. Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Being able to view the airport from the hotel and not be disturbed by the noise is a huge plus when using us for a stopover.

I am so pleased that our room service met your requirements and I will commend the chef & TEAM on their efforts.

We look forward to your next stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    218
    76
    28
    9
See reviews for
35
179
59
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Would definitely stay at this hotel again - great price, friendly staff and nice rooms.

As soon as we approached the front desk, we were met with Charles' beaming smile and greeting which made us feel at ease immediately. We knew we had made the right decision with staying at the Protea OR Tambo Airport Hotel

The hotel has an airplane theme and it's very well done with the decorations.

The evening buffet was very reasonably priced at R$150 with a decent selection of food items. It was also refreshing to receive a complimentary bottle of water at dinner. The waiters also seemed quite familiar with the wines and they have a very nice Pinotage available by the glass.

The beds were comfy and while quite close to the airport, it was not noisy at all and we slept well.

After a little snafu with leaving something at the room, the staff was also helpful in trying to fix our challenge.

Room Tip: We faced the airport and had no noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear sdchick1027

I am a firm believer in setting the best first impression and your review put a smile on my face. It is humbling to hear that the STAFF continues to express their passion for what they do and create outstanding GUEST experiences.

Getting a good night’s rest whilst travelling is really important and we are only too happy to provide a quiet room and cozy bed.

Until your next visit we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This aviation-themed hotel surpasses all expectations of a bland, boring airport hotel. The super-friendly, smiley staff create a really cool vibe, and the odd aircraft bits and pieces – bent propellers, air-cooled radial engines, old aeroplane tyres and enormous aviation maps of Jo’burg and Cape Town as floor coverings in the reception and restaurant areas – really make the place feel special.

The rooms are modern and quite spacious, with a large glass bathroom and separate toilet – the only thing I’d say against them is that there’s no light-switches near the bed, so you have to get out of bed to turn off the lights…

The restaurant is very good value, with a nice buffet and inexpensive but good wine. There is also a free shuttle bus from the airport, as you’d expect. All in all, this is a very good hotel – not just a very good airport hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Keith R

I love how you have described the hotel! This embraces the exact feeling and experience we intend for our GUESTS to have when they stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport.

The aviation theme and décor sets the scene and just like you said, the STAFF create a friendly and warm environment to top it all off.

I will be sure to mention your enjoyment in the restaurant to the Chef and TEAM, which will only inspire them to continue searching for excellence.

We do our best to offer exceptional GUEST service and the complimentary shuttle is just one way of doing that.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This clean, modern, hotel is less than 5 minutes from the OR Tambo Airport with complimentary shuttle. On-site amenities include a sports bar and restaurant, swimming pool and workout facilities. Complimentary coffee is always available in the lobby and a meal plan is available with your room. An outdoor courtyard provides a comfortable setting to relax. Internet access is available in all rooms with public Ipads available in common area near the lounge. Mid-priced, the Protea is an excellent hotel to layover in Joburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Rudder H

It was such a pleasure reading your review and very humbling at the same time. We set the bar very high and it is reassuring to hear that we are on the right track to reaching our goal.

Being close to the OR Tambo Airport, along with the shuttles, is perfect for a short layover or extended business stay. Just like you said, one can even relax in the outside courtyard alongside the pool.

We understand the importance of access to the internet and I am delighted that this suited your needs.

Thank you so much for your comments and recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had found a great deal on the website of the hotel for my 3-nights layover in Jo'burg. To my pleasant surprise it was also a great deal as accomodation and surroundings go. I was worrried that the rooms would be noisy so close to the airport but as my room was on the parking side away from the airport I could sleep peacefully even with the windows open. My room was good, the restaurant and bar area fine, the swimming pool a pleasure. In addition all staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful sleep even with the windows open aske for a room overlooking the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Nossim

A pleasant surprise is definitely what GUESTS can find at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. With unique aviation décor and close location to the airport, what more could one ask for?

We have done our best to ensure that the rooms are protected from the noise and it is delightful to receive such positive feedback on your comfortable and peaceful night’s sleep.

I will commend the STAFF on their friendly and helpful service. They are continuously striving to achieve excellence and provide all with the best GUEST service.

Thank you for posting a review and I hope you have a safe trip home.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I normally steer clear of big hotels especially for holidays more because of the impersonal touch it offers, though I love it for business trips! This time we chose the Protea due to its proximity to the airport and it was a pleasant experience. The hotel itself is well done up (shockingly unique for chain hotels especially in these countries) and maintained well. The staff service was very attentive especially in the bar area. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and most importantly sound proof, especially due to its proximity to the airport and the Lufthansa aircraft looking like its ready for boarding from the hotel itself! They also offer a frequent, complimentary and convenient shuttle service to the airport.Was a very good stay.

The reception staff have room for improvement - the sullen, unsmiling welcome one gets does not seem professional. To be fair the check in was smooth but given that this is first point of interaction for a guest to the hotel, the staff attitude leaves a lot to be desired. Between the lackadaisical movements, bored facial expressions and condescending attitudes, the hotel needs to focus on front office training. Asking a guest "Did you understand what I said" in school marmy tones is hardly friendly and downright condescending.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear harrypot

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.

Exceeding expectations is what we aim for and our décor certainly seemed to do that for you. The aviation theme is there to embrace our unique location to the airport.

Peace and quiet is a necessity when on holiday and I am thrilled that you found comfort in your room with no noise from the airport.

I appreciate your feedback regarding the reception STAFF and will attend to it immediately. We strive to offer the best GUEST service at all times and I apologise that you did not receive this at reception.

We are thrilled that your stay went well and that the shuttle was of benefit to you. Until next time, safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Close to the airport, about 5 minutes by car (they offer free shuttle from the airport to the hotel every 15/20 minutes i assume).
The rooms (some of them) have views to the airport, which makes the view quite interesting if you like airplanes...
Be aware that sharing a room with someone who's not a wife/relevant person may be embarrassing as the shower is not in a separate area (like a bathroom), but in the room itself, and you can only "cover" this part of the room using a special curtain which is there for it (but it doesn't make a completely closed area for privacy...).
The breakfest is good, internet connection as well (although not included in the regular rate).
Don't stay there if you plan to go to Johannesburg, as it's not close to the city.
It took me like 10 minutes to find out where's the pick up site for the shuttle... you may go all the way thru the corridor where the car rental companies are and look for it there. You may go further after the Intercontinental entrance...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Diego40

Receiving feedback from GUESTS is very valuable to us and our continuous search for excellence. We aim to offer a unique hotel experience to our GUESTS and you picked it up exactly in our aviation décor throughout the hotel.

Our open plan design of the rooms is intended to offer a more spacious environment inside the room. Although the shower is not closed off by a wall, there is a privacy curtain instead.

Our chef sources the freshest produce and creates a variety of dishes for our GUESTS. Breakfast is no different as we understand the importance of having a full tank for the day ahead.

Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Johannesburg.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.