We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Management and food in Johannesburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional Management and food in Johannesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed two days following two weeks in the Kalahari and the Mpumalanga.
I had special needs to include the locked storage of Firearms. I E-mailed management two a months before the trip and subsequently the reservation.
The Manager and his front deck manager promptly responded with cordially and promptly providing the assurance I sought.
When I arrived there was a little confusion about the storage issues with the night staff, but it was resolved in about five minutes after shared the E-mails from the Management.
From then on, if a question or issues arouse the manager, one of his assistants and even one in training was there to respond.
The Room was very Nice and large. But the ambience of the hotel is stark. Most of the guest were Businesspersons or on Holiday from Europe and the USA. Most were cordial.
Restaurant was surprisingly good. The SA (ZA) Steak was delicious and prepared just right. And the Breakfast buffet, with cooked to order entrees and a myriad of buffet items, was exception and an exception value. The wait staff was pretty good. But seem disingenuous under the trained smiles.
Anyone traveling to South Africa is, however, forewarned that there is a culture of expected gratuities that is out of control. Every one the dose anything has there hand out and will try to imitate one in to a larger gratuity. If a person is mopping the rest room floor, driving the scuttle to the airport. If some one approaches you help you thought check, the airport personnel. And it goes on. And you are at risk of armed robbery any time at Nelson Mandela Square (shopping centre). I was warned not to ware my “expensive” watch or any jewelry there or on city trains.
The biggest story in the Sunday paper was how much it costing the taxpayers to Support the Presidents four first ladies. So much for our problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear JE2

I am proud to hear that the STAFF was able to attend to all of your requirements and appreciate your positive comments on TripAdvisor.

Providing quality food and comfortable rooms is part of our goal to offer the best GUEST service at all times and I will be sure to relay your kind words to the TEAM.

Unfortunately, Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is unable to monitor the practices of individuals outside of our property. We have lodged a query with the Airport management company and apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.

As with countries around the world, it is common for visitors to observe the local safety practices. The Nelson Mandela Square shopping centre is frequented by locals and tourists daily and both can feel comfortable to roam the centre freely and can be assured that it is monitored by world class security systems and personnel.

I am thrilled that you had a positive experience at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and would be delighted to welcome you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    225
    80
    28
    10
See reviews for
37
183
59
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I made my reservation on line, looking for a hotel close to airport. I selected this hotel based on its name: Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. Unfortunately the name is very misleading, since the hotel is not close to airport. There are at list a dozen of other hotels more close to airport and in better location. However due to misliding name, Protea is one of the first listed on Trip Advisor search.
Trying to find the hotel is a challenge. I enter in GPS the address from hotel website and I drove for 45 minutes trying to find the hotel. The official address is Corner York & Gladiator street, wich cannot be entered in GPS.
After few turns in dark streets trying to follow the GPS address, I returned back to airport and try to follow the street signs, which was quite dificult in a rainy evening. When I finally got to the hotel I had to rush to airport and return the rental car hoping that I will catch the hotel shuttle before 22.30 when is the last one.
The rooms are very basic with tiny windows, no full bathroom with shower and sink in the room.
Bottom line if you are looking for a hotel close to Johannesburg O.R. Tambo International Airport, try other hotels that are much closer to the airport even if do not have word "airport" part of their name. My opinion is that the use of "O.R.Tambo Airport" by Protea Hotel is false advertising, used to mislead customer about real location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear lbodocan

I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. It is not our intention to mislead GUESTS in any way by the name of the hotel. We are proud to be located within 3 kilometres of the airport and to offer GUESTS a free shuttle service between 06h15 and 22h45 daily.

I can assure you that I will be making contact with all of our online affiliates in order to prevent any confusion being caused in the future.

Protea Hotels is continuously striving to offer the best GUEST service, so I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcoming you back during your next stay in Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Protea Hotel OR Tambo on two occasions, both before and after a safari in Kruger Park. Our travel agent booked this hotel for us, and our safari guide, who was also familiar with the hotel and stayed there on our first night, said it was an excellent choice.

Looking at the street view in Google Maps, it didn't look to be in a particularly nice area, with an old, apparently abandoned caravan parked on the side street adjacent to the hotel; but upon arrival we found it to be much better than expected, and the caravan was no longer there.

It's a nice, moeden hotel, not too large or cavernous in size, positioned very conveniently. The rooms were small, but comfortable. We're not too fussy about room size, given we were there to rest overnight before and after our safari trip, and that hotel rooms are never intended to the highlight of our trips.

The interior is modern and funky, and as an aviation enthusiast, the aviation-themed decor was a nice touch. For plane lovers, there is a very nice view of large aircraft at the airport just across the R21.

The restaurant offered a nice selection of food and wines and the service was good. We ate breakfast and dinner at the restaurant on both stays. Service was prompt, friendly and good.

The bar area and outdoor pool and grassy areas were very pleasant and welcoming, and while we didn't use those facilities, they looked quite inviting.

For our plans, the Protea Hotel OR Tambo was a good choice, located very close to the airport, with nice decor, comfortable rooms and good service. The shuttle service to and from the airport was very frequent, and there were good amenities, including WiFi Internet access.

The only negative aspect was disturbed sleep on one night due to some noisy people in the corridors; but in all fairness, this was not a fault of the hotel.

Unless we were planning to spend any time in Jo'burg, we'd be more than happy to stay at the Protea Hotel OR Tambo again in transit during future visits to South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Xenedis

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and providing us with an opinion both on the physical features and services that our product offers.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the innovative design. Perhaps we can make your next stay more comfortable by allocating a different room type which has a bath and a shower making it more spacious. Please be sure to note this on your next reservation and we will be more than happy to accommodate your request.

It was so rewarding to read your post - we are really pleased that we could make your stay a great one. One of our Protea Hotels Principles, “In Search of Excellence” appears to be very fitting at this moment and that is why GUEST feedback is so important to us so that we can ensure we are not only meeting our GUESTS’ expectations, but exceeding them. Your comments are much appreciated and truly invaluable to us. I am excited to share your review with the TEAM who made it all possible.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Best regards
Gawie Nel
General Manager
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed on Sat. Oct 6, 2012. Check-in was made easy by a courteous and VERY helpful desk clerk who even telephoned my airline to find out if my missing bag had been located. Room was clean and quiet, even though it was only one floor above the outdoor patio. Love that the floor is engineered hardwood rather than carpet, which always seems so dirty. A bit disconcerting to have the shower right in the room, but it wasn't a problem. The main floor restaurant was noisy, but the food was great, and offered a number of vegetarian choices. A number of people have complained about the airport shuttle, but I had no trouble finding the shuttle location at the airport, and once at the shuttle "terminal" there was a big sign for the hotel. The shuttle was on-time, as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to see the airport and the planes, you need a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Arete,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport

We would just like to express our thanks for your words of appreciation. At The Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport, we take pride in delivering the best GUEST service and commit ourselves to getting the basics right consistently. Without your comments we will never know when we are doing right and more importantly when we are doing wrong.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston/Luanda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Fantastic service from the moment we walked through the door. Front desk staff was courteous, professional and smiling. Loved the room, a really excellent use of space, very well designed. The room was spotless and the amenities provided were of good quality. We enjoyed dinner and drinks in the restaurant and bar. The waitstaff was quick, knowledgeable and attentive without being pushy or intrusive. My partner ordered from the menu, and loved his meal. I had the buffet, which was fresh, tasty and had an excellent selection to choose from. The bar was upbeat and we never had to wait for our next round of drinks. Checkout the next morning was a breeze, again with friendly, professional staff. The proximity to the airport is ideal for layovers and transfers. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Patty_likethecake,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Best regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I used that hotel only for one night on my journey to Victoria Falls. It is design hotel, room looks exactly like on the hotel website pictures, even though it is smaller than it can look from pictures. Nevertheless it s cozy and clean. The room was not prepared in the morning, so we took a tour to look around. We returned in the evening, the room was prepared but with no towels inside. After asking housekeeping service nothing happened. Complaint through the reception helped. The surrounding is quite busy and noisy with direct view at highway and the airport. There is no noise inside the room, though.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear justbig,

I would once again like to apologize most sincerely for the unacceptable service experience. This truly does not reflect the high standard which the PH OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.
However, I am very pleased that we were able to resolve the concerns.
Thanking you again for your constructive criticism.

Kind regards,

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Although this hotel is mostly used for overnight stays by travellers in transit to the OR Thambo Airport, we go there for the amazing view of the airport & runway. If you are crazy about aviation and anything that goes with it, this is the place to be. From the decor inside at reception all the way through the bar (with aeroplane tyres for bar seats), restaurant, lifts, even room numbers, carpets and ending up with the finest aviation touches in the rooms. Although very modern, comfortable you still get that aircraft hangar feeling throughout the Hotel. The simulator next to the bar is an aviation enthusiasts dream, with wide screen projection, a hand full of throttles and a yoke.

Rooms 525 & 523 has the best view on the airport & runway. Great to be in your room and see the majestic Airbus A380 standing right in front of you being prepared for take of - takes our breath away every time... Not the most quiet hotel, but all the sounds of aeroplanes taking off and landing makes the vibe of the hotel even more unique, while relaxing next the pool with cocktails and lunch.... Good room service, friendly staff especially Lerato at reception! She went out of her way, after the double booking of our first room 525 & then the plumbing problem in 523. One minor complaint we have about the room, is there is no toilet brush & spray, which also cleaning staff will benefit from. Breakfast is your normal buffet, bit expensive, (but with our Gold Procard membership, we get 50% off our meals), food is of good quality and high standards. Was not our first visit, and wont be our last! See you soon!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Crause,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and providing us with an opinion both on the physical features and services that our product offers.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the innovative design of the room. Perhaps we can make your next stay more comfortable by allocating your favorite room (525 or 523) . You are welcome to highlight this on your next reservation and we will be more than happy to accommodate your request.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.