We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“world class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“world class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

From the shuttle to the hotel service was excellent. Staff was more than willing to help and they were professional in doing so. Room was Excellent with the view to the airport. Watched flights taking off. I will go back therE again but for coffee loving people like me there must be morE sugars placed in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear cimento,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!

Kind Regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    271
    94
    38
    11
See reviews for
43
220
72
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night here at the start of a long holiday. Although it is a airport hotel, you can't walk to the airport as it is on the other side of the freeway. The hotel has a pleasing, modern and quite unique design. The rooms are new and of a high standard with all amenities, very clean. The service levels however do not match this and are poor. On checking out early in the morning I paid cash to the reception clerk for my extras. The hotel then phoned my family and accused us of not paying. They deducted the extras again from my credit card. Clearly they have dishonest staff issues so be warned.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are of a good standard. There is nothing to see outside, so it does not matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Morrey,

Thank you for all your help and taking my calls!
I would once again like to apologize most sincerely for the unacceptable service experience. This truly does not reflect the high standard which the PH OR Tambo Airport is usually proud to offer.
However, I am very pleased that we were able to resolve the concerns.
Thanking you again for your constructive criticism.

Hope to see you soon!


Kind regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am only posting this to warn fellow travellers. Despite confirming my reservation on phone two hours prior to checking in and paying for the room in advance, I was met with a blank look and 'sorry we don't have have a room for you' when I landed up at this hotel. The rudest people possible at check-in, I was greeted with a blank stare and they happily suggested I should go to another hotel which they would escort me to and were not bothered about the fact that i was travelling alone and didn't want to faff around to various hotels at night. After much fighting, they gave me a handicapped room which was unplesant and with no remote control for the television. Needless to say I left for my connecting flight a couple of hours earlier that necessary. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Good day Ms Mishra,

With reference to your recent comment on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the management at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport , we would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience.

We are extremely saddened by your feedback. Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Your overall experience is therefore very concerning to us.

We can assure you that this matter has been investigated and that our TEAM has taken the appropriate action to rectify the shortcomings in our service. I have sent your apology letter to Mandy from Gta travel a day after you departed as I was advised about your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how you experience our service. Your comments have reached the attention of all involved and have assisted us in creating a commitment to ensure that situations such as these do not arise in the future.
Your interest and concern are much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport again in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you require any further assistance.

Yours sincerely


Gawie Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Despite an email confirmation of booking they had the wrong date and blamed us - 45 minutes later they were still debating which room to give us. Checking out the next day they tried to overcharge for the room rate (unfortunately for them I had my copy of the email booking). Generally very unpleasant checkin staff.

Evening meal consisted of tough dry fish which we waited 50 minutes for.

In summary the worst hotel experience we have encountered anywhere in the world. Never again !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear KingDin

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not manage to exceed your every expectation. I assure you that we will make work of the aspects of our operation that need attention and I certainly hope you will provide us another opportunity in future to show you that we took your comments to heart and improved as a result of them!

Thank you again and best regards.


Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

had a 10 hour lay over pick this hotel cause it was close to the airport so we could rest and shower. Friendly staff , shuttle is kinda so so.. I wanted to do the flight simulator they had but it was turned off. Maybe another time.

Room Tip: Tip, if you arrive early try emailing or contacting the hotel a few days beforehand asking if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear KingDin,

Thank you so much for your comments!
We assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We reached Johannesburg on 18th noon and our flight to CapeTown was early next morning so we had booked a room here for a night.
The good thing was that they have a free airport shuttle available that is scheduled once every hour till 11pm (from airport to hotel). The hotel itself is just 5-8 mins drive from the airport.
The hotel's interior is good. The room was decent enough and clean. I did not like the table top wash basin as the water wasn't draining fast enough. The bath room is not a separate locked room but is a part of the room with glass partition so take care when splashing :) The staff is good and friendly and are ready to provide info on places to visit , if you have time to kill.
The best thing I liked about this place was the breakfast. Absolutely great.
We had a good time and would recommend this place for anyone having to stay overnight in JNB.
Do note that if you arrive after 11pm local time, you will not get the free shuttle to the hotel. A taxi might cost around 150-200 rands.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Nizantz,

Thank you for your words of appreciation on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport and to hearing from you again!


Kind regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okahandja
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was a very nice looking Hotel. Unfortunately nobody informed us that you can only book in @ 14H00 in the afternoons... we arrive early and had to wait a long time in the bar area with no service...., but the Hotel is very nicely design and the rooms are OK....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Christo S,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport on TripAdvisor - we appreciate the feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that we did not manage to exceed your every expectation. I assure you that we will make work of the aspects of our operation that need attention and I certainly hope you will provide us another opportunity in future to show you that we took your comments to heart and improved as a result of them!

Thank you again and best regards.

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.