We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, surprising design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, surprising design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I spent one night with my daughter in this hotel in August between our flight back from Kruger and a morning flight to Vic Falls. We found the shuttle from the airport without difficulties and finally understood why the distance estimates between airport and hotel varies from 500m to several km...
If you are a bird, go straight from tarmac and it is 500m, if you are a human, take the shuttle and go around the whole place, it is 5-10 min drive :)
People at the check-in were very nice and we quickly got our keys. The airport/warehouse design theme of the hotel was somewhat surprising and not really nice for me but not disturbing either. The absence of a wall between bathroom and sleeping area (only a curtain) came also as a surprise, but the beds were very comfortable and the room very clean.
We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. We took the evening buffet that was quite nice, plentiful and tasty.
On the next morning at the time we had to take the shuttle to the airport, a group of maybe 20 people were ahead of us, monopolizing access to the next two shuttles (it runs every 15 min).
We complained to the desk, saying that we did not have time to wait 45 min and they immediately found someone to bring us to the airport in one of the hotel's cars. That was a great response, and I wish to thank the people at the desk for their attitude!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pr0tea, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good day BigDid,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

I am happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We try our best to meet our GUESTS expectations in every way possible.

Hope you have a wonderful time at The Falls and we will have a opportunity to welcome you back to Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport soon.

Kind Regards

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    211
    69
    28
    10
See reviews for
33
171
57
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is nice and clean, with a great look, but the service is bad. You will find here and there someone dedicated, but mainly, they don't care about you.

I don't know if it's a design or architectural problem, but the bar/restaurant area is incredibly noisy. It's nearly difficult to have a normal conversation. Maybe it was because of the queue of people trying to check in...

It's close from the airport and they provide a free shuttle. They also advertise on their website a shuttle to/from Rhodesfield Gautrain's station which I was relying on. After waiting for a few minutes and trying to find a sign for the shuttle and called the hotel. They told me there no shuttle, but would send a driver. We waited for 30 minutes and called again. "Oh! you didn't see the driver?"... The guy finally arrived 15 minutes later! Good luck!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Valued GUEST,

Thank you very much for staying with us and making time to share your good comments as well as your concerns with us.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport. I can assure you that your concerns are receiving our utmost attention and focus. In our quest to deliver best GUEST service we strive to better our GUEST expectations daily and we will do everything in our power to ensure that we do not have a repeat of what happened.

We hope that we can welcome you back to the Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport to show you what true hospitality is all about.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally via e-mail at gm@phortambo.com if you would like to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards

Gawie Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great hotel, clean rooms.

Free Shuttle service from OR Tambo International

Nice little restaurant

Great value for money

Room Tip: Near OR Tambo International
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear KleinKaroo84,

Thank you for making time to write a review.

We have made a couple of changes to the hotel... we have interleading rooms that is perfect for families when flying out or breaking away.


We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon for an unforgettable stay!

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

Protea Tambo is a good hotel, well and modernly designed. Reception Staff is nice. Rooms are clean well fournished, super clean. Breakfast is rich. The only one problem is the restaurant. Quite bored waiters and, I suppose, a lazy chef lasts 1 hour and a half to serve you 1 main course. Really close to the airport, shuttle bus works well.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurWings, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear sma710,

Its wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us and we hope that your coming back soon to experience the hotel again.

The theme of the hotel is funky just like the STAFF. We aim to exceed our GUEST expectations as you are thr core of our business. I would like to apologise about the slow service you experienced in the Restaurant.

Thank you for writing thing the review, GUEST feedback is valuable to us.

Lindia Mangels
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

A new hotel only 5 mins in a taxi from the airport costing R200.....
A real funky vibe about this place and i will now always use it for my stopovers as the price was amazing! Great food in the restaurant...& then a cozy lounge to order drinks & relax post meal. A great outdoor swimming pool adds charm to this great place.
The room was cosy and had all you need for an airport stopover so i highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoalheven
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We only stayed the one night to make plane connections. The free shuttle to and from the airport is extremely helpful. Rooms are modern and comfortable and the restaurant and bar are pleasant places to spend time. Free wireless access appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two days/nights having had to do some business in the greater Johannesburg area. The paraphernalia and theme of the hotel is quite different, with much of the imagery resembling an airport hanger, etc. Rooms were very neat, modern and I found it comfortable with everything I needed during a very pleasant stay. The hotel is conveniently close to the OR Tambo (Johannesburg ) International Airport, and although you can hear the planes take off and land in the close proximity, the sound insulation of this hotel is very good and the planes-noise do not prevent a good nights rest. (I think it has something to do with the exterior curtain walling which has been placed strategically to deflect the sound of vehicles and planes) The restaurant and the culinary aspects of the restaurant was also good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms also have internet WiFi which is adequate. I really cannot fault this hotel and would stay there again without thinking twice. It is a good 3.5 ... nearing a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport – Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa’s largest airport. An aviation enthusiast’s paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you’re stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all – trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.