We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Rock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added African Rock Hotel to your Saves list
African Rock Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 de Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A true boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent only one night in this house-hotel on the outskirts of Joburg as we were travelling the next day to the Mauritius. The third stop of our honeymoon. We were picked up at the airport upon arrival by their complimentary transfer minibus. The hotel was previously a house lived in by the current owners that transformed it into a very cute 9-room (suites) boutique hotel. We were very warmly welcomed and escorted to our room by the young reception clerk named Eugene. He was also our waiter during our evening meal. A very professional guy with great potential. The room was very new, very clean with all the comforts of a 5-star hotel. We enjoyed a lovely meal prepared by the expert cook, a girl named Chris. Complimentary champagne was offered with our meal, that was delicious. We had an early morning check-out to get to the airport on time, nevertheless breakfast was served at 6.30 am in a very personalized manor. I met the owners and they are a very nice couple that have really created a surprisingly great place to stay. A very homely feeling with a family ambience. A small but very pretty swimming pool was attractively set in the garden area. The furniture and all areas were very orginally ornated and we had a great stay in this hotel. I highly recommend this place to fellow travellers. A true gem !!!

Room Tip: Any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
100
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at African Rock hotel at the end of a three weeks trip to SA and could not have found a better place to stay.From our welcome from Joanne calm efficiency of Collette and wonderful african cooking from Christine everyone did their best to make our stay happy.They all put themselves out to help and were treated like royalty.Certainly should we be in Joburg again African Rock would be the automatic choice to stay

Barbara and Ron Magson

Room Tip: Room 8 was alittle narrow but beautifully furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Västra Götaland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This place is a gem, I have never seen customer service like this anywhere! The food is fantastic and the rooms are beautiful - It's close to the airport and has complimentary transfers too! Such a small intimate place really makes you feel relaxed, in fact we almost felt like it was our own pool and garden :-).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This small boutique hotel and its outstanding staff won my heart on our way to the Kruger Park. Staying for a few days close to Johannesburg airport, this peaceful location exceeded my expectations. Free taxi transfers, delicious home-made food, pool, birds singing in a green garden, guests seating together for breakfast or with a glass of wine around the fire in the evening.

We had the room number 7, modern, clean, elegant open plan bathroom with bathtub in the centre. This room was ground floor with a large window on a quiet footpath, but the double curtains guaranty your privacy if needed.

Always enjoying those small details, like an umbrella available next to your door or the square face towels to dry your hands in the public toilets. Beautiful African style decoration, lounge with books and travel guides, a hidden treasure to share with your loved ones or to stop by for business (the location was selected for us by a South African company hosting a convention, but we were driven each day to the office by colleagues). Excellent for solo travellers too.

Room Tip: You might wish a room without a large window entrance for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We enjoyed a night in this little wonderful hotel, before we went to a 3-week Safarie through Botswana and Zimbabwe.
This little hotel was fabelous. I can't imagine to stay there several days, because it's nothing to do in this area and the pool area is very small.
Nevertheless, the service is outstanding, the rooms are beautiful, the service is excellent and what we get to for dinner was the best what we had during the whole trip.
Very recommendable to start or to finish a trip through Africa. We enjoyed the stay very much!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Located close to the airport, this is a really nice, upscale spot with friendly service. If you're looking for a place to stay before heading off to or from from a safari that requires you fly into Johannesburg, this is it. The owners are former owners of a safari outfit themselves, and they took the time to sit down and tell me all about what I could expect. What was supposed to be a relaxing evening before starting my adventure turned into much more. Highly recommend it. The food at their restaurant was also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We arrived in Cape Town at 7am after 28 hours of travel and transferred immediately to the Africa Rock Hotel. Check in was not for several hours but the wonderful staff at the hotel allowed us into our room as soon as arrived. Check in was quick and efficient and we were made to feel very welcome. The owners and staff seem to enjoy their business and bend over backwards to cater to your every need. The hotel itself is elegantly homey and the public areas are beautifully decorated with lots of spaces to relax. Each room is decorated in its own style and the beds were wonderfully comfortable and luxurious. Daily meals are available and are expertly prepared by the exceptionally talented and creative chef Christine. Every meal was a labour of love. As travel agents we highly recommend Africa Rock.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Rock Hotel

Address: 48 de Villiers Avenue | Van Riebeeck Estates, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Rock Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive 5 star boutique hotel is located 10 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living. The interior "look and feel" boosts a successful fusion of African, Western and Oriental design trends and offers a warm, welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The architecture is contemporary, includes all modern day technologies is practical and comfortable. The hotel offers a complimentary meet and greet and a return airport transfer. The on site restaurant, The Blue Hippo, offers a fusion cuisine. All meals are prepared by a top chef with fresh ingredients and served in a fine dining manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your African Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.