We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option when needing a bed between flights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport to your Saves list
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Hulley Road, Isando Ext. 3 | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1627 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Option when needing a bed between flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We did not have a reservation at O.R.Tambo Airport but after walking into the InterContinental and ... $400 USD later ... we decided on the Garden Court for 1/4 the price. For starters GREAT shuttle from the Airport to the Hotel every 30 minutes. Efficient, clean, fast ... a great first impression. The front desk was likewise very helpful and accommodating. They have a great Irish Restaurant and while the food was so-so, the service and the beverages were definitively divine. The room carpet (#136) was worn and old and needs replacement. That's the only complaint I have. The Hotel buffet restaurant (for Dinner) was excellent with Maitre d' 'Mr.Surprise' being an superb host. Breakfast buffet was equally tasty and well done. Unfortunately as we repeatedly visit South Africa, we find that the 'Americanization" of the breakfast is taking a hold. We hope that the Hotel management can withstand and continue to present locally grown and authentic South African food.
If you need a room at the Johannesburg Airport this is a great find.

Room Tip: Corner Room # 136 was excellent, albeit it needs new carpeting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel, it is great to see we met the majority of your expectations and I will ensure that your valued criticisms are shared with our team so that we can find ways to better improve on our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    123
    55
    10
    4
See reviews for
47
67
14
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We did not have a reservation at O.R.Tambo Airport but after walking into the InterContinental and ... $400 USD later ... we decided on the Garden Court for 1/4 the price. For starters GREAT shuttle from the Airport to the Hotel every 30 minutes. Efficient, clean, fast ... a great first impression. The front desk was likewise very helpful and accommodating. They have a great Irish Restaurant and while the food was so-so, the service and the beverages were definitively divine. The room carpet (#136) was worn and old and needs replacement. That's the only complaint I have. The Hotel buffet restaurant (for Dinner) was excellent with Maitre d' 'Mr.Surprise' being an superb host. Breakfast buffet was equally tasty and well done. Unfortunately as we repeatedly visit South Africa, we find that the 'Americanization" of the breakfast is taking a hold. We hope that the Hotel management can withstand and continue to present locally grown and authentic South African food.
If you need a room at the Johannesburg Airport this is a great find.

Room Tip: We loved the corner room #136, albeit a new carpet would improve this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel, it is great to see we met the majority of your expectations and I will ensure that your valued criticisms are shared with our team so that we can find ways to better improve on our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Maybe due to reviews or comments by guests - who knows, but the hotel has been freshened up with decoration, though some car pets still need replacing - stairs particularly, but these impro0vements have improved the hotel to reinforce my decision to keep staying there.

The staff are very helpful and cheerful bearing in mind they operate an airport hotel that is busy all the time.....The Irish bar - Rose O Grady's food excellent.....look forward to staying here again in June!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool - even quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am most pleased to see you have noticed some of our latest improvements, without your feedback we would not be able to make those improvements and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with me and my team. Have you had a chance to make use of our FREE WIFI yet? Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Garden Court is located an easy 5 minutes from the International airport, in a relatively quiet area, despite the traffic from both air and road. The Hotel,is very reasonable and newly decorated. Meals both in the restaurant and Irish bar/pub are good and varied. Rooms are quite well appointed and the showers are great, hot water not a problem. The Hotel has a decent pool and large grass area to sit outside. The Hotel is far enough away from the airport to avoid feeling you are staying at an airport, yet near enough to avoid the nightmare traffic at peak times ie. 7.30-9.15 am and about 4.00-6.00pm NB getting in to Joburg am and out pm.
A great one night pre or post long-haul flight or longer, if visiting Soweto etc.

Room Tip: There is a lift, but the corridors are long, so ask to be nearer to lifts/elevators, if mobility is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for you very valued and positive feedback. Its particularly great to see that our product met your expectations and we trust we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near furture.

Yours in Hospitality
Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Garden Court OR Tambo hotel is situated near the airport, overlooking the motorway approaching the airport complex. There is a an airport shuttle - all the websites and advertising suggest that the shuttle, but it seems what they mean is “free for checkin or checkout shuttle” and should you wish to use the shuttle at any other time, then it’s ZAR42 per person per journey - so not completely free! The shuttle operates about every 30 minutes and takes approx 10-15 minutes. Beware - the shuttle times published on the hotel website are out of date! The hotel has parking - chargeable at ZAR40 per day, accessed using room keycard. The hotel is “as the crow flies” not too far from the Rhodesfield Gautrain station, but the reception staff advise against walking to the station (not safe). The hotel is located in an industrial area and there are no local amenities except for the adjacent Zenex service station, which has a basic shop.

Checkin was quick and relatively painless (except we had two separate bookings for two consecutive nights and we were made to check out and check back in again and pay separately!). There always seems to be ample front desk staff and no need to wait. The main reception leads on to the Irish pub, the buffet restaurant, the meeting rooms and the pool area.

This hotel has been around since the sixties but has recently been refurbished. We had a first floor family size room that accommodated two double beds and a cot bed. The beds and pillows are comfortable. The aircon is the old split unit type and rather noisy. Strange curtain setup to fit around the aircon unit. The room did have a balcony and a door, but the door was locked! LCD television. Plug socket that takes european/british plugs is handy. Loads of cupboard space and a digital safe.

The bathroom is the most impressive aspect of the refurb... looks new with smart floor tiles, a shower curtain that bows out and lots of space. Good shower water pressure and temperature.

We had two room service meals (served from the Irish pub kitchen) - the cheese and bacon burgers were amazing and excellent value, sadly the “Club Sandwich” was a bit peculiar - being served on a baguette and drowned in rich cheese! The Irish pub menu has a wide selection of choices and the prices are fair.

The breakfast buffet is included in the room rate and is well worth it - extensive selection of hot and cold items - including omelettes made to order. Breakfast staff very helpful and friendly.

This hotel offers no free wireless internet They do offer wireless access via 3rd party provider AlwaysOn and it’s not cheap. Best value seems to be for their most expensive packages, otherwise it’s ZAR50 for 1 hour - what a rip off!

The hotel has a fair sized pool, just off reception. It’s outdoor and not heated. The water was a bit chilly for a swim in late April!

A good choice for an airport stopover hotel, seemed expensive for what it was - but that reflects a lack of local competition. Two things they need to fix: genuinely free airport shuttle service and free wifi!

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care.

I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel. I have taken careful note of your comments regarding some of the areas of your experience which could have been improved. I am pleased to inform you that as of 1 June 2013 the hotel will have free wifi to all in house guests which should ease some of those additional costs you mentioned. We are also in the process of replacing our split aircon units and our family rooms are first on the list.

It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to monitor our Service Delivery levels and make provisions to even further improve your “Guest Experience”. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and trust that you will find improvement in these areas.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Garden Court before and after our Nomad tour, as did many of our fellow travellers. The food is very good indeed and excellent value for money and the serving staff are charming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the hotel is modern. We used the free shuttle to and from the airport. All very convenient. The hotel concierge arranged excursions for us both days and even secured a discount for us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. I am pleased to read that we have been able to meet your expectations of our Hotel and hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were picked up from the O.R.Tambo by the shuttle bus and taken to the hotel,once there it was a quick check in.The room itself was spacious and comfortable,we then nipped down to the bar which happened to be still open at 11pm.The breakfast was help yourself but was fantastic,tea and coffee brought to your table!! We then checked out again with the shuttle bus taking us back to the airport to pick up the hire car!! I really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaAnnNeale, Manager at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
My sincere thanks to you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my management team. The Garden Court OR Tambo prides itself on Service Excellence and our Customer Care. . It is through Guest Feedback like yours that we are able to maintain our High Standards and services delivery levels and put a proud smile on the faces of our Employees.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Lisa-Ann Neale
Assistant General Mana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport

Address: 2 Hulley Road, Isando Ext. 3 | Johannesburg Airport, Kempton Park 1627 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate convenience and comfort at Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport. Located within a few minutes from the Johannesburg Airport, this hotel is the ideal for travellers needing somewhere to rest during a stopover. Comfortably appointed rooms offer spacious living, private bathrooms and amenities that appeal to the business and leisure traveller alike. Several conference venues on the premises cater for business meetings of up to 250 persons, making it the perfect business destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.