We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your $” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Guest House to your Saves list
Emerald Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value for your $”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at emerald guest house overnight on my way thru Johannesburg. I was traveling alone and needed somewhere cheap and easy. I was met at the airport by the staff and taken straight to the guest house. It was a quick 10 min drive from journey airport. The staff were laid back and friendly ad the rooms were adequate. Don't expect 5 star service, but the value for money is excellent. I was concerned there would be airport noise, but it was incredibly quiet. The hearty breakfast the next morning was just what I needed to set off the next day. I wouldn't stay here for an extended period of time, but it was perfect for a quick over nighter!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    71
    43
    18
    19
See reviews for
36
37
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had stayed here before, 4 years ago, and the rooms have improved a little. This time we stayed overnight on both our outward and return journeys. Everything very basic, but clean enough. Very loud until around midnight with aircraft taking off and landing. Breakfast adequate. A little patience is required for the pick-up from the airport, and we found we had to have the info desk phone the Guest House, but the driver then arrived within 10 minutes. Transfer to the airport is every hour, on the hour, which is fine, and it is really only a 5 minute drive. For the budget minded, fine at that price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looked a bit shabby, albeit there was a great deal of building work being done while I was there. It also had an ant infestation - though I couldn't find too many in the room.

The room was very basic but served a purpose.

The location is literally 5 mins from the airport - not great if you can't get to sleep for the sound of planes, but ideal if you want to be a hop, skip and a jump away from the airport itself.

The staff couldn't have been anymore friendlier.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Emerald Guest House is very dated. The rooms have extention cords hanging off the wall, and the light switches are a nylon string hanging from the roof! The beds were comfortable and I slept great, the shower had hot water so I cant complain in this regard.
However the rooms could use a great deal of maintenance.
On a more positive note, the driver to and from the airport was very nice and helpful. The owner/manager was easy to approach and helpful.
The food was good and plentiful for breakfast and is self service besides the eggs and bacon, which is cooked to order.
This place is great for backpackers and travelers who don't hold high expectations, and its close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires argentina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I chose the Emerald Guest House for a one night stay, before a morning flight. When I went to the airport info desk to find out about being picked up, I was told to go to the next info desk, as short distance away. the woman called the Emerald and the driver was at the airport in a few minutes. Amazing. The return trip to the airport was excellent. The room was fine for 1 night. The light for the bathroom was at the front door, not near the bathroom.Odd. I wanted to go to the reception desk to inquire about getting someting to eat. I really had trouble find the place. There definitely should be arrows on the pavement to help navigate the walk. Food? Problem solved. There was a menu from pizza place. Cheap, excellent and fast. The staff and the breakfast was fine, but the wifi didn't work.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

In a residential neighbourhood near the JNB Airport, this guest house seems mostly suited to back packers. Room had bare fluorescent strips on ceiling for lkighting in was infested with ants. Bed was less than comfortable. Staff indifferent. We ended up having dinner at the airport, as the dining area and menu choices weren't very appealing

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is definately a budget stay. Transport from the airport was an inconvenience. My plane landed at 22:00 and I had to wait for other guests to land before we left for the guest house. I only got there after 23:00 despite only being 5 minutes from the airport. Rooms are adequit and clean but nothing fancy. Bed was hard and bathroom tiles broken. The benefit of being close to the airport is negated by the planes taking off and landing all night next door and does not allow any sleep. Breakfast was minimal and asking for more than 1 egg was frowned upon. For the price I guess this place is acceptable but with so many establishments available in the area, next time I will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerald Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Guest House

Address: 19 Halifax Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emerald Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.