We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Moon Corporate House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added African Moon Corporate House to your Saves list
African Moon Corporate House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   63 Rietfontein Rd, Glen Marais, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #14 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Winterton, South Africa
1 review
“Corporate stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Was very happy with the location as it was out of the major traffic areas and far enough from the airport. Room was nice overall but need some work on the bathroom facilities. i.e poor pressure, shower heads not working properly. Delicious food :) Suggest that you have a list of taxi services on office door for people wanting to use it. Overall very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Adri
Thank you for the nice review.We are currently attending to the water pressure in some rooms.I have also instructed management to have various taxi options available.Hope to see you again.

Regards
Stephan Malan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    20
    10
    5
See reviews for
19
39
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

African Moon is a nice place to stay. Large rooms, well decorated. Relaxed to sit at the pool after the day. Only disadvantages: my room was not clean and it was not easy to get in after arriving in the evening.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest , thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

After a recommendation from some travelers I met in Zimbabwe and the free airport shuttle, I booked the African Moon. Unfortunately, it was a disappointing experience.

The room I booked was the "luxury room". It was fine but not exactly luxury by standard. The bed was clean but the bathroom had torn open shampoo packets and ashes on the candle holder (despite being a non-smoking room). I did point out the ashes and it was cleaned by house keeping.

The free breakfast was good and the honor system bar is a nice way of treating guests.

My main disappointment came from the customer service from the assistant manager (I was told the manager was on holiday by another employee). I was hoping for some help as I was in Johannesburg to spend some time at the Department of Home Affairs regarding citizenship and passport. The overall attitude I received was not very helpful. After not being able to get much help on transport options for where I needed to, I decided I needed to rent a car. Thus, I asked to arrange the shuttle back to the airport. I was told by the assistant manager that it was not possible that morning as they were doing some building and the driver was out for a while. She then recommended I should book a taxi. I asked if I could eat breakfast and then check status.

After breakfast, I saw the driver so I assumed he was back. I went again to ask the asst. manager if it was now possible to get a ride to the airport to pick up my rental car. I was again told that the driver was still busy and I would have to book a taxi. She booked one and I then sat outside to wait.

A few minutes later the driver (he is one of the good things about the hotel) wandered by and stopped to chat. I asked him how he was and commented that I heard he was busy. He told me that he was not busy and that it was actually really slow and quiet at the hotel. I was shocked. He asked if I needed a ride somewhere and I told him what I was told and that I had a taxi on the way. He was then shocked and told me the truth - that the asst. manager was out using the car for her personal use (she was gone in the car at this point). He told me the customers are the number one priority and the shuttle was there for us.

Needless to say, I was extremely frustrated as I had to pay for a service that was supposed to be free. I decided to check out the next morning and will not stay at that hotel on my further travels in Joburg. I do appreciate the honesty of the driver - he was a really nice guy and extremely friendly each time I spoke to him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are investigating this unfortunate issue. We apologize for the inconvenience. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We want to thank you for your excellent hospitality, service all through excellent! We have not made use of any room or sleeping facility will not comment on that. Location very good and easy accessible. Thank you very much, we will most defenitely see you again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Gerhard, we are looking forward to your next visit. Thank you so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

excellent value and great service for low budget, very friendly and helpful staff, really home made breakfast lovely start in the day, very nice pool area with bar and relaxing spots, DVD in every room perfect!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind review. I am glad the guesthouse was suitable for your needs. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hey I enjoyed my stay at your lodge. Its beautiful, well set out, rooms comfortable (love the size!). Love the wooden tile floors! Loved the breakfast. Okay I liked your place period. The main door was never shut and I drew a great sense of security from this than otherwise, I mean who does that unless they are very confident about their external security measures. The Honesty Bar, can't help but smile just thinking about, at this day & era, in Jo'burg, no one believes me when I tell them. You guys have an awesome thing going on there. Keep it up and thank you. SD

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi SD.Thank you for the great review,hope to see you again.Our honesty bar has been going for ever and has been a talking point all around.Next time I will even buy you a drink.Enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and My Girlfriend stayed at African Moon for two nights. Bright picked us up from the airport at 11pm to ensure we got their safely and then dropped us back at the airport to pick up our hire car the next morning. I thought the rooms were fantastic and well equipped. We didn't stay around the house much as we had plenty to do in Joburg but our experience was fine nevertheless!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanMalan, Owner at African Moon Corporate House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to African Moon Corporate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Moon Corporate House

Address: 63 Rietfontein Rd, Glen Marais, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — African Moon Corporate House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Moon Corporate Business & Guest House Accommodation African Moon Corporate Guest House & Corporate Business Accommodation offers exceptional 4 Star accommodation only ten minutes drive from the OR Tambo International Airport and is situated within walking distance from shops, restaurants and other amenities.A luxurious corporate retreat with 24 spacious bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms all equipped with the latest communication and entertainment systems. Relax at the swimming pool have a sundowner at the bar or sit down and enjoy a scrumptious business meal with colleagues. We invite you to join us for great hospitality in a stylish and modern corporate business guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your African Moon Corporate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Moon Corporate House Hotel Kempton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Moon Corporate House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.