We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil B&B with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marben Manor Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kempton Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marben Manor Guest House
Save
You added Marben Manor Guest House to your Saves list
163 Bon Cretion Street | Pomona, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tranquil B&B with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

During a three night stay my colleagues and I found Marben Manor to provide excellent service, tasty meals, and a tranquil environment in which to hold meetings. Airport transportation a plus. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
14
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Marben Manor: and it was the perfect beginning and ending of our stay in South Africa! we stayed one night just arrived in Johannesburg and two before our flight back to Italy. In both occasions Willem was waiting for us at the airport (complimentary transfers are provided) and brought us to to their beautiful countryside retreat, where Yvonne fed us delicious food .
They suggested how to spend the afternoon, in a safe and pleasant place, and drove us there and pick us up when we called "home".
The room was delightful and the breakfast excellent. We loved the homemade jam!
When we had a serious problem with our flights, we called Yvonne and Willem and they were more than helpful.
The place is great, the garden manicured with wonderful flowers, but we expecially enjoyed the warm of the dinners at the same table in a gorgeous dining room , talking with our hosts and the other guests.
Thank you, Yvonne and Willem!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney. australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

i stayed here for one night before flying back home to australia. the airport transfers were included. the rooms were very large with a lovely bathroom large comfortable bed tv, lounge chairs, very clean and looked out onto the pool. the dinner and breakfast were both lovely and i felt very comfortable and relaxed while there. i will deffinately use them again, thanks to wild wings safari's for recommending and booking me in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a wonderful guesthouse nearby the airport, and an excellent place to stay for anyone travelling on a tighter budget or not wanting to stay at the “higher-end” guesthouses. This is truly great value for the money, with the added bonus of free airport transfers. The grounds are large and well manicured, with a tennis court & swimming pool, and the hosts let us wander about on our own. It was a gated property and we felt very safe. I believe they have nine rooms, most of which are doubles.
While it does not have all the amenities of a 5-star rated accommodation – fancy soaps/lotions/shampoo/conditioner, thick mattresses & multiple pillows, fancy showers, under-floor heating, A/C – our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. It doesn’t appear that they have a liquor license and beer/wine/soft drinks were not available to purchase. They do have a tea/coffee station and fridge in the room. All rooms have a non-smoking policy.
While not fancy, it fits into the “home-away-from-home” category, complete with pets. Perhaps as testament to the great deal this guesthouse offers, it appears that mid-level South African businessmen use the guesthouse regularly– during our stay we interacted with a number of locals.
If I had to find something to improve on, there would be two things: one was that the pillows were flat and not very supportive, and two, the water pressure in the shower would come & go if someone else was using water; but with some folding of the pillow and timing of the shower, these weren’t a problem.
The hosts were absolutely wonderful and helped us with any request we had. They truly bent over backwards to help us and make our stay more enjoyable – more so than any of the many guesthouse or B&B owners we’ve interacted with. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

One night stay between flights. It really couldn't have been better. Were picked up from the airport and taken back the next morning. Fantastic evening meal and breakfast the next morning. The hospitality of the owners is outstanding. The children loved playing with their dogs!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

This was a lovely overnight stay in Johannesburg. With alot of JetLag and only needing a place for the night, this was perfect. Met at the airport by the owner (and driven back in the morning).. his wife cooked a fabulous dinner and breakfast (dinner was only $7 AUD per person - breakfast included) . Group dining in the formal dining room was great to get to know other guests. The accomodation is above average and very comfortable. The grounds are secured and beautiful..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

When you have a major hiccup during your honeymoon(getting kicked off a flight due to lack of empty pages in your passport for visa stamps), it is great to have someone who you could call last minute, pick you up from the airport at 12am and accommodate you with their hospitality. Yvonne and Willem of the Marben Manor Guest House were a blessing when my wife and I needed housing for the night on January 11. Yes, the guest room was amazing, as was the breakfast, however, their hospitality is number 1 in my book and when I return to Johannesburg, I will be sure to stay with them again. Thank you so much Yvonne & Willem! - Gemma & Patrick

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marben Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marben Manor Guest House

Address: 163 Bon Cretion Street | Pomona, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marben Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.