We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Inn B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Inn B&B to your Saves list
Airport Inn B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   19 Halifax Road | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 56 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Funky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed one night here. Appears to be an old appartment/condo complex. Food is frozen and served if you microwave. Decor of rooms is funky. Felt like a 70s type of place. Good things is the pick up and drop off to the airport. Okay for overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
11
15
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked in a few weeks before I was due to arrive and gave my flight number and time arrival etc, for airport pick up. My flight arrived at about 4pm. I waited, I waited. I telephoned at 4.45pm to be told that "the bus was on it's way". Another half an hour and no bus! I phoned again, this time no one even answered the phone. Eventually went somewhere else, after waiting for 90 minutes and 2 phone calls!!!! I certainly don't recommend.

Room Tip: don't choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a room for one night.
The friendly staff picked us up at the airport and after a short drive we arrived at the Airport Inn. We booked a bed and breakfast room and expected just that.
When we arrived we where amazed by the lovely garden and overall atmosphere.
The reception is located at a small bar next to the breakfast area.
There is a wall right next to the reception where all the guests can write messages.
This gave us more the impression of a hostel than a B&B.
We quickly realised the Airport Inn is a mix of both: they have a hostel area and a B&B area. And somehow the make it work.
We asked the reception to set up a guides tour thru Johannesburg and they arranged even a personal pick up.
At night we asked them for a nice place to eat and the brought us to the Emperor hotel and casino.
We also enjoyed the long conversations with the staff and owner (in Afrikaans :-) ).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good breakfast. Room was comfortable, but near runway. Good shuttle service. not far from town centre. Used hotel when strikers threathened to block motorway, and entrance to airport. Hotel is within walking distance to airport.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from airport perimiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Arriving so late and feel a warm welcom at your geusthouse I slept very well and was to late for breakfast. Still the lady offered some fresh coffee and a sandwich. Great !
We will remember your name and adress.
Baukje Hk, Cameroon

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked 70 people on a sports tour at the Airport Inn. Although the shuttles from the airport to the lodge were a bit slow in coming, the rates were extremely reasonable and included great breakfasts and all our shuttles backwards and forwards to Festival Mall and those shuttles were spot on time every time and whenever we needed them. The kids on the tour had freedom and space to move around with the lodge grounds which were safe and secure. So much better than being couped up in a hotel room and corridor! There were 2 stunning swimming pools although the water was a bit chilly heading into winter, they still made use of the big pool. The gardens were lovely with lots of tables and chairs to relax around. The rooms - although different configurations and sizes, were clean and comfortable - and they are building more units which will then better accommodate our big group next time :-) Very friendly staff, always willing to help - thank you Willem for your patience with all our requests. Amazingly enough this lodge is practically on the doorstep of the airport and yet the plane noise was much less here than it is at my house which is about 20km from my local airport. Thank you for a lovely 4 night stay.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the front gates were a bit noisier than those on the pool side. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

When we arrived at the property we didn't look at the room before we paid our money. We then entered the room which was dirty, tired and not at all what we expected. We then explained our dissapointment to the staff who were very rude and unhelpful. One gentleman continued to text on his phone whilst we tried to explain our dissatisfaction to him. His customer service was appauling. Needless to say, we checked out immediatly (with no refund) and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn B&B

Address: 19 Halifax Road | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than a 5 minute drive from the international airport, our reasonably priced establishment is within easy reach of the motorways, providing swift access to the area. Despite such a strategic position, we include free transfers to and from the airport. Tours and other travel services are provided and inquiries can be made to the reception via email. Housing a range of en suite rooms, our property also features 2 swimming pools, a bar and a restaurant on our premises. Each of the room features a private entrance from the garden, creating a relaxing atmosphere and giving you freedom and independence. Our guest house has been in operation for 10 years and we have recently being awarded a 3-star status by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Airport Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.