We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casalinga Ristorante Italiano

Casalinga Ristorante Italiano
Rocky Ridge Road, off Beyers Naude Drive, Muldersdrift, Johannesburg, South Africa
011 957-3311/2612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 726 restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg , South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Country Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent food , good service - gardens are great and staff are very friendly and efficient. Worth a visit - great weekend eating destination.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    83
    45
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The setting is gorgeous, the gardens are beautiful, the food is delicious and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family surprised me with my 50th birthday lunch booked at Casalinga. I had not visited for a number of years and thoroughly enjoyed the surprise. Waiter was attentive, food was delicious and setting beautiful...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I have have been going to Casalinga restaurant for several years and have always enjoyed our visits,the food is good and so is the service,the setting is very romantic,an old farmhouse in the countryside,it also caters for special occasions like weddings

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a let down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Went there with some friends for a Sunday lunch and all I can say is never again. Service is dismal as is the food. To call this Italian is a joke. Everyone is just packed in and the rest is left to untrained waiters.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casalinga Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Casalinga Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casalinga Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.