We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well managed restaurant - superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmonger

Fishmonger
Dolly Rathebe, Johannesburg, South Africa
0118383366
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Very well managed restaurant - superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt which connects to the shopping mall where this restaurant is located. Without ideas on where to have dinner, we noticed that this restaurant was the busiest, so decided to check out the menu.

It was a great choice. The menu has several dozen seafood choices as well as numerous items for non seafood eaters. We had the tomato salad and the roquefort salad, both excellent though best shared due to size, followed by baked prawns and fish, both of which were excellent.

While easting, we noticed how attentive the manager was to making sure all customers received fast service...probably to turn the tables quicker, but we always appreciate when someone is attentive. While we haven't tried the other restaurants nearby, we are quite confident this is the best choice in the mall for relatively upscale dining. Reservations recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great service, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I went to this reataurant on a sunday afternoon, without a reservation. The service was excellent. They gave my 6 year old nephew a lucky packet and he was thrilled and thoroughly occupied, The food was great and the portions quite generous. On the downside its a quite expensive and the sushi isn't very good.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fab Food. Found gold in the city of gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We went to Fishmongers in Rosebank. Service was perhaps a level below that of the food which was absolutely delicious. Wine by the glass was served is a 'swimming pool' sized glass and the evening was exceptionally enjoyable. Parking was cheap and easy (unlike other major cities around the world).

Will definately go back if we are ever in Johannesburg again

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow it felt I was treated with loyalty and respect! Fishmonger -Rosebank!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

From the minute we walked in it was smiles and to the presentation of the meal! The staff amazing! Well done Fishmonger - Rosebank other restaurants should learn from you all! BIG SMILE!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Probably the top place for fish in Johannesburg. Consistently excellent.

  • Visited October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fishmonger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishmonger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.