We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year-end Function Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Year-end Function Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had our year-end function at this hotel and also slept over at the hotel. Everything had been absolutely professional from the very start.

The team was very attentive and professional during the planning phase and on the night of the function everything was fantastic. The staff were very friendly, responsive and efficient. What a great party at a very nice venue! (The vault)

The rooms were also great and it was fun to have this experience in the middle of the city of Johannesburg.

Thank you for a great evening. Happy to recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Elna,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We were delighted to have had the opportunity to host your Company function and that it was such a huge success.

We look forward to welcoming you and your team back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
25
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

What a great establishment slap bang in the Johannesburg CBD. I was amazed to find this hotel situated in a part of jhb steeped in history and to realise that it is actually a tourism gem waiting to be rediscovered after the successfull re-generation of the CBD.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Fanus,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

We appreciate your kind comments and are as excited as you are to be situated in the Vibrant City of Johannesburg with its warm Culture and History.

At Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel we strive to offer the highest quality and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel in the near Future

Kindest Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel has large spacious studio apartment style rooms that include a kitchenette. The hotel is located in a key business area and safe for the single woman traveler. However , it is far from the shopping district and stepping out in the evening is absolutely avoidable.The hotel has free internet but no wifi in the rooms only a lan wire so if you have a mobile device you just have internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Shriyanka,

Warmest Greetings from the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in the Heat of the CBD, close to all the new and exciting developments and attractions that the inner Johannesburg has to offer.

Thank you for your sincere remark as security is of utmost importance to us here at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel.

My team and I strive to offer the best possible service and quality our guests deserve.

In the near future you will be able to enjoy wifi and new linen in all guest bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention at all times.

Best Regards
Wayne Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed in Mapungubwe for 2 'stopover'-nights. We aprreciated the spacious rooms and their facilities, the friendly staff and fine restaurant. It's also a very good location to explore Johannesburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Martens I,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It is a rare find to locate a hotel as splendid as this one. First of all, it is extremely stylish and well designed. The rooms are chic and spacious. The whole hotel is shines with cleanliness and the staff exemplify quality service. The buffet breakfast is a very high end with a great selection of hot and cold food. I would totally recommend this gem of a hotel to anyone looking for a first class experience for a very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Inside rooms look over an interior courtyard and pool. Security is present in all areas of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique C, Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Lyle_WA,
Thank you once again for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms as well as our great food. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Yours in hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there for three weeks (without the weekend).
It a nice hotel w/ very large rooms. Nice personal with good service. They are always willing to help you. The gym was ok. If you have to work in the neighborhood, this is a good choise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are probably much more quite, however the view will be limited. Hotel taxi servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Good afternoon Kees, V,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. You are right in that the inward facing rooms are quieter. We also offer patio units, security conscious rooms (CCTV in the hallways) and one bed execs should you require more space for a longer stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back !

Many regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great weekend exploring Johannesburg with Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartmens as our base camp! I will definitely recommend Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments hotel to anybody who is looking for stylish place to stay in Johannesburg CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMapungubwe, General Manager at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good morning Mr Burger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel. I will convey your positive comments to our team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future !

Regards,

Carel Pienaar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments

Address: Corner Marshall & Ferreira Street | Marshalltown, Johannesburg 2107, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star property is set in the Johannesburg inner city in close proximity to the business district, FNB Stadium and Ellis / Coca Cola Park. The spacious studios and apartments at Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments features and African design and includes on-site parking, fitness centre, flat screen TV and a large seating areas. A 24 hour reception desk is available. The hotel features 24 hour security and CCTV cameras.A free WiFi and internet connectivity and inner city shuttle service is offered to all guests.Twist at Mapungubwe (on site restaurant) serves a buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, while a variety of drinks are available at the bar.Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport is 24 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.