We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luca's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Luca's
Cnr Rivonia and Outspan Roads, Johannesburg, South Africa
Update restaurant details
Ranked #45 of 692 restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Consistent good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A really great place that I have been going to for the last 4 years and the food is always consistent. Apart from their well known salad (which is amazing) their food is always good. Prices might be a little on the high side but I believe this is because they only use the best produce. I would highly recommend Luca's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    22
    13
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Where the owner remembers your name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Luca's definitely make the best tasting salads in town and COLD beer is served with awesome focaccio-perfect Sunday chill time. We are always greeted warmly regardless of how crowded. One of our favourite places under the trees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have been going to Luca's for years - always guaranteed of a good pasta - they serve the best penne arriabata. Their salads are good but it's Lucas special dressing that makes them good. Service can be a bit slow though - but i overlook it as the pasta is so good!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoy an italian meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have visited this place for a few reasons. Firstly with friends and secondly for a year-end function at work. The food was consistent both times however I do find the starters quite small. The melanzane parmigiana for example is an extremely small portion which is overpriced. The vegetarian selection is good though and the meat dishes are supposed to be good. There are better Italian places in JHB which give this place a run for its money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“top friday night pizza and beer spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

solid comfortable italian food. great pizza and as always the house salad with addictive dressing. great service, luca looks after people properly and makes you feel like family. always good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca's also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luca's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.