We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent good food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luca's

Luca's
Cnr Rivonia and Outspan Roads, Johannesburg 2191, South Africa
27875503533
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 891 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Consistent good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A really great place that I have been going to for the last 4 years and the food is always consistent. Apart from their well known salad (which is amazing) their food is always good. Prices might be a little on the high side but I believe this is because they only use the best produce. I would highly recommend Luca's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where the owner remembers your name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Luca's definitely make the best tasting salads in town and COLD beer is served with awesome focaccio-perfect Sunday chill time. We are always greeted warmly regardless of how crowded. One of our favourite places under the trees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have been going to Luca's for years - always guaranteed of a good pasta - they serve the best penne arriabata. Their salads are good but it's Lucas special dressing that makes them good. Service can be a bit slow though - but i overlook it as the pasta is so good!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leader L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoy an italian meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have visited this place for a few reasons. Firstly with friends and secondly for a year-end function at work. The food was consistent both times however I do find the starters quite small. The melanzane parmigiana for example is an extremely small portion which is overpriced. The vegetarian selection is good though and the meat dishes are supposed to be good. There are better Italian places in JHB which give this place a run for its money.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“top friday night pizza and beer spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

solid comfortable italian food. great pizza and as always the house salad with addictive dressing. great service, luca looks after people properly and makes you feel like family. always good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca's also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Luca's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing