We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school colonial African feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wombles

Wombles
17 3rd Avenue | Parktown North, Johannesburg, South Africa
0118802470/3
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 762 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old school colonial African feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The decor and atmosphere at Wombles is quite different and looks like an old dining room, which can really impress foreign guests. The steaks are top-notch and the parfait starter is to die for.

Go here hungry and have three courses.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    89
    35
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The steaks were cooked to perfection; do take their advice on the categorizing of rare, medium etc.
The service was attentive but not over the top. We ate inside but outside seems most popular. It is a little bit expensive but not by European standards. Cozy lay out but well organized and managed. We felt very welcome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over rated & old fashioned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wombles are stuck in the past. Old decor and old style cuisine. A big steak covered in BBQ sauce. Rather go across the road and have some well aged beef. The wine list only offers mid to lower end reds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Amazing Rhodesian Experience - Average Steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We took my parents here for my father's birthday. They were totally blown away, they thought it was the best restaurant they had ever been to. The waiters were great and the atmosphere reminds me of the Vic Falls Hotel. The starters were good and every one finished theirs and mine were delicious.

I felt like i was in the twilight zone because everyone at the table was saying how great their food was, and my steak was terrible. The green pepper corn sauce was bland and i guarantee the chef did not bother to have a little taste to make sure that it atleast tased similar to pepper. Like other reviewers, i too found myself using the salt and pepper on the table to try and get the sauce to have any flavour.

Looking at the other reviews you can see that in the last 2 months there has definitely been some staff change or management change because the reviews are dropping and more people are talking about how bland the food tastes.

My wifes duck was delicious and so were the starters, so i would say that they should drop the "steak house" tag, because the steaks are their most disappointing dish. The wine was great, and i would love to try a few more.

The service was good at the start, but then we had to wait about 30 minutes for the bill. Eventually the manager came and took payment, i can only imagine that our waiter went home and forgot us.

At the end of the evening, we achieved what we wanted, the parents were blown away and felt like we had totally treated them and they had an amazing experience at the restaurant. I would go back for the atmosphere and the experience and setting but not for the steaks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I was dying to visit Womble's and was not disappointed. The decor is very homely and rustic / African and the service is very good.
The steak is superb and the wine list is pretty good, though not amazing.
I would go again with colleagues, family, husband etc.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wombles also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Wombles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wombles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.