We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Restaurant for all ocasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of la scala montecasino

la scala montecasino
Montecasino Boulevard, Johannesburg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $14 - $22
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cairns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Restaurant for all ocasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have been going to La Scala ever since it opened its doors, and every visit is as memorable as the last. From Private celebrations, to intimate dinners, as well as Corporate functions, one is treated as though you are part of the family. A menu which is mouth watering, and demonstrates the passion that Pinot has, never disappoints. Fresh ingredients, cooked with passion and served by friendly efficient staff, see us looking forward to visiting time and time again.The wine cellar is also a treat, a wide variety of wines, and the wine list certainly compliments the menu. Our last visit was an off the spur decision to see if we could get a table, bookings are generally essential, and we were very fortunate that a special table was squeezed in for us. The staff were superb, as we know most of them, it was as though they all came to look after us, to catch up and ensure we had a great evening with them. So if you are looking for a fantastic "authentic" Italian dinner, do not hesitate, get down to La Scala and enjoy the ambiance, as well as a fantastic menu. Hopefully you too will become regulars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"inside" Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

i was taken to La Scala for my birthday, I was treated like Gold, good ambience, and real feel of Italy. Unfortunately an inside restuarant, but never the less, a good taste of Italy, - lemoncello - really good, and food fresh and Tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“LA SCALA, MONTECASINO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Good service, great food but a bit pricey...I expect their overheads are high though due to their being inside the Casino. Nice to go with a boyfriend/husband/partner - good ambience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you plan to be at Montecasino, then call ahead to ensure you can eat at la scala. You are thousands of miles from Italy, but the food makes it seem much closer. Great service and great food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I attended a seminar held here previously which was organised well and I have since been back. The food served was great and the service was good. They served breakfast on the terrance which gave a nice relaxed atmosphere and lunch was inside at long tables. The food arrived quickly and was presented well.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la scala montecasino also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to la scala montecasino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la scala montecasino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.