We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega

Bottega
22 4th Avenue | Parkhurst, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 447 4448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 766 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food on whole here is great. Im not a vegetarian but the Melanzane and a few of the other vegetarian starters are really excellent. The waiters know the menu really well and service has otherwise been good on the few times i've visited.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Souht Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Goosen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really love the bakery, the service is great and the avo rock is divine. the venue is not fantastically aesthetic but well positioned. the upolstery could be redone is it a little old!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent selection of food and wines and great service, up market and great for special occasions or any occasion really! Book in advance

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food in the heart of parkhurst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its so small you may just miss it, but the italian food here is something not to miss. Its authentic( so much so that the owner speaks to you in italian if you want), and the food is great. My mother in law( a true italian) even thought the food was great.

The small setting makes it cosy, and the day we went it was raining which made the air cool, and ever so much more enjoyable. Have any of the pastas, they are fresh and change on a weekly basis. Not cheap, but well worth good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great first-date restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband took me here on our first date and within six months, we were engaged. Now, I'm not saying that this restaurant was directly responsible for my marriage, but it is a great place for a first date. Lovely, romantic atmosphere and great service. The food is superb, as is the wine, albeit a tad pricey.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.