We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goosen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bottega

Bottega
4th Avenue | Parkhurst, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 447 4448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 759 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Souht Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Goosen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I really love the bakery, the service is great and the avo rock is divine. the venue is not fantastically aesthetic but well positioned. the upolstery could be redone is it a little old!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent selection of food and wines and great service, up market and great for special occasions or any occasion really! Book in advance

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food in the heart of parkhurst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its so small you may just miss it, but the italian food here is something not to miss. Its authentic( so much so that the owner speaks to you in italian if you want), and the food is great. My mother in law( a true italian) even thought the food was great.

The small setting makes it cosy, and the day we went it was raining which made the air cool, and ever so much more enjoyable. Have any of the pastas, they are fresh and change on a weekly basis. Not cheap, but well worth good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great first-date restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband took me here on our first date and within six months, we were engaged. Now, I'm not saying that this restaurant was directly responsible for my marriage, but it is a great place for a first date. Lovely, romantic atmosphere and great service. The food is superb, as is the wine, albeit a tad pricey.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Bottega - a sure thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Food is always good and prices are reasonable. Staff friendly and efficient. One of our favourite places.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bottega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.