We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food,great taste and very proffetional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghazal

Ghazal
Coachmans Crossing Centre, Peter Place Road | Peter Place, Johannesburg, South Africa
011-706 9826/9412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 763 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food,great taste and very proffetional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good food and great service and very affordable.
I have been visiting this place for more than 5 years,got introduced to it by my CEO and i still love the place.I wish it stays the same longer....what a serious outing place

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    74
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“North Indian cuisine in Johannesburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have never had a bad meal at Ghazal. The korma dishes are always a winner and don't forget the naan bread. Sharing a few of the excellent curries that this restaurant produces is an great way to enjoy a meal here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best indian in Bryanston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This Indian Restaurant serves fresh, tasty, North Indian dishes that satisfy the tastebuds of ordinary Indians living in Joburg. Nuff said.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My first experience of Ghazal was during a farewell luncheon for a colleague back in April 2012. A month or two later I took my wife for a late weekend lunch.

The waiters were very helpful in explaining to us the different types of curries and spices used as well as the taste. They also recommended and assisted us in selecting our orders based on how spicy we liked our food.

The starter platter was fabulous. There was a variety of curries ranging from veggie, lamb to chicken. I played it safe with some type of chicken curry while my wife went with some type of lamb. They are very generous with their portions.

Good food if you like the Asian / Indian cuisine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just popped in at Ghazal for a quick dinner, on arrival they were busy closing. The manager informed us that they were closing, but immediately offered to help us with a take away meal if we should wish. We accepted, had a great meal and the friendly service was what makes us return time and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghazal also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghazal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.