We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian cuisine.(Peter Place, Bryanston)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghazal

Ghazal
Coachmans Crossing Centre, Peter Place Road | Peter Place, Johannesburg, South Africa
011-706 9826/9412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 734 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine.(Peter Place, Bryanston)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We love and know Indian cuisine. Ghazal is definitely our favourite. Lovely venue, comfortable dining room. Wonderful fresh food, not heavy and always delights the taste buds!!Good unobtrusive service from knowledgeable waiters.Must book in advance!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    73
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Ghazal - Sunninghill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

One is never disappointed when it comes to eating out at Ghazal. The service, food, location and ambience is just wonderful. So often at Indian restaurants the food is good but the dessert never quite matches the main course, This is not the case at Ghazal. The food is tasty, portions are generous and the chocolate volcano is superb! It the kind of place to take a date, go as a family or meet up with friends. Voted best Indian restaurant for 2010 and 2011 I can see why.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I recommend the lamb biryani. Beautiful flavours! Good service for a very busy Friday lunch. Naan bread the best I've ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top notch Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I eat here regularly and have never had a bad experience. The food is always good, the service is speedy and efficient and the atmosphere is nice.
I really enjoy it and will keep going back. If you haven't tried it I recommend you do!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best indian food I have had so far in Johannesburg. Generous portions, very good staff, nice atmosphere. Accurate spicing and superb naan, with real ghee, these guys don't cut corners. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghazal also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghazal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.