We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghazal - Sunninghill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghazal

Ghazal
Coachmans Crossing Centre, Peter Place Road | Peter Place, Johannesburg, South Africa
011-706 9826/9412
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 726 restaurants in Johannesburg
Price range: $15 - $20
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ghazal - Sunninghill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

One is never disappointed when it comes to eating out at Ghazal. The service, food, location and ambience is just wonderful. So often at Indian restaurants the food is good but the dessert never quite matches the main course, This is not the case at Ghazal. The food is tasty, portions are generous and the chocolate volcano is superb! It the kind of place to take a date, go as a family or meet up with friends. Voted best Indian restaurant for 2010 and 2011 I can see why.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    68
    64
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I recommend the lamb biryani. Beautiful flavours! Good service for a very busy Friday lunch. Naan bread the best I've ever had!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top notch Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I eat here regularly and have never had a bad experience. The food is always good, the service is speedy and efficient and the atmosphere is nice.
I really enjoy it and will keep going back. If you haven't tried it I recommend you do!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best indian food I have had so far in Johannesburg. Generous portions, very good staff, nice atmosphere. Accurate spicing and superb naan, with real ghee, these guys don't cut corners. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i love their curry and the atmosphere of the restaturant. friendly service and brilliant food...im always going back for more!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghazal also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghazal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.