We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you grow tired of hotels on business trips...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Parkwood to your Saves list
The Parkwood
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   72 Worcester Road, Johannesburg 2711, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“When you grow tired of hotels on business trips...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I regularly travel on business, also to Johannesburg. Following a recommendation by a colleague, I started staying at the Parkwood and have done so for the past three years. The relaxed, infornal atmosphere is a welcome change from hotels, which after a while all start looking and feeling the same.
The lodge features a number of outside and inside communal areas (all within WiFi reach) where one can kick back and "chill" after a long day. All the rooms I've stayed in have a private garden space as well.
Although informal and always friendly, I've received nothing but outstanding service from every member of the staff during every stay.
The lodge serves breakfast only and the other meals are up to you - not an issue at all with the choices available in the surrounding areas.
Secure parking is available and the lodge maintains a high level of security. I often sleep with the door to the garden open - weather condiitons permitting.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have an outside shower in the private garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
19
4
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I visited on business, staying only one night but found it to be much nicer than other the "name brand" hotel that I had stayed at in the same area on a previous trip. The room was very comfortable and the underfloor heating was a very nice touch. The staff were particularly helpful and my colleagues and I felt quite safe out walking in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've had the priviledge of staying at the Parwood while on business in JHB. This boutique establishment provides a serene breakaway from the madness that is JHB. While situated close to the business districts, you tend to forget where you are once you're behind the gates.

The luxurious rooms (well they are actually more like cottages) are well equipped and you are guaranteed privacy no matter which part of the property you're staying on.

My first choice for accommodation when travelling to JHB!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first stop on our recent trip to South Africa. This is a really beautiful jewel box of a hotel - a wonderful welcome after 30 hours of travel. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. We had a sitting area and a private, enclosed outdoor shower in addition to the soaking tub. Our traveling partner did not have a sitting room, but still had a large, comfortable and luxurious room and bath. The heated floors were welcome in the winter morning cold.

We arrived late and left early, and I wish that we had more time to enjoy the property. There are a number of courtyards, patios and pools to enjoy, and it was so tempting to curl up with a book and enjoy the morning. Breakfast offered both hot and cold options, and the hot breakfast was outstanding.

Note: there is no kitchen service available in the evenings. Plan ahead or pick something up if you're planning a late arrival. The property is tucked away behind fences and with a security guard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Parkwood Guest Lodge, quietly yet conveniently located in a secure peaceful location in Johannesburg, yet close to the interesting shopping and restaurants of Parkhurst, Rosebank and Parktown North was a perfect base for us. In a lovely garden setting with on-site parking, lovely indoor and outdoor public areas, and excellent breakfasts.Our accommodation was superb. A spacious bedroom and bathroom with every amenity, was coupled with a private walled garden and an outdoor shower. Hospitable and helpful hosts ensure that we will return as this is both good value yet stylish.

Room Tip: Room 6 had direct access from the parking area, yet we had privacy, loads of space, and access to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermontville, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were very impressed with the level of both service and accommodation at the Parkwood. It is a series of small buildings/units on a lovely property, rather than a house, which gives more privacy and quiet. The rooms are very nicely decorated, and well laid-out, The beds are quite hard, but we found that in most places we stayed in South Africa. Also, the heater was noisy at times, but I am very sensitive to noise.

The location is excellent and we walked to Rosebank Mall several times. They arranged taxis for us at night to go to dinner. There is a security guard on the premises 24 hours so we always felt safe. We would definitely recommend this as an alternative to staying at a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The Parkwood is one of the most beautifully designed hotels at which I've ever stayed - it really is quite something. Rooms are huge and extremely comfortable; ours had a wonderful bath, shower and outside shower, and a lovely outside area in which to sit. The attention to detail is extraordinary - little jugs of fresh milk in the communal fridge to take to your room, fully-equipped fridge with everything one could want, bath crystals in a dish with a scoop - like going to a spa! Breakfasts are delicious and everything is spotlessly clean. Nicky is extremely helpful and friendly, going to extra lengths to offer us another room in which to shower if we wanted, after checking out. Can't believe she could ever be arrogant as one previous review suggests. If you want a gorgeous place to stay in Johannesburg, look no further! Highly recommended...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkwood

Address: 72 Worcester Road, Johannesburg 2711, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Parkwood 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkwood is a relaxed boutique hotel combining elements of contemporary style with classic comfort.Luxurious,private & secure accommodation in the suburb of Parkwood within walking distance of the underground train station in Rosebank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Parkwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkwood Guest Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.