We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graton Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graton Guest House
Save Saved
You added Graton Guest House to your Saves list
4 Oaklands Road, Orchards | PO Box 92283, Norwood, Johannesburg 2117, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Hollywood, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Graton for five nights in December 2012. We picked the Graton largely because it was located just a few blocks from relatives that we were visiting in the Orchards area. The grounds and house were both well kept and the room was perfect. Tony prepared breakfast each morning and even had us dining outside when the weather was nice. Graham, who is extremely knowledgeable about the region, took us for a very informative and enlightening tour of Soweto and Johannesburg. We would highly recommend the Graton to anyone staying in Johannesburg and we will almost certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
29
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm the son of the "octogenarian" who recently posted a review of this B&B. Even though we're both world travelers, this is the first time I've posted something on Trip Advisor. But I realize that Trip Advisor is becoming THE way to find places to stay when traveling internationally- and I want to support the good places I visit. This is one of those places. This was our first trip to Johannesburg, and I was a bit skeptical about what I would find. But Graham was waiting to pick us up, the B&B is in a great neighborhood (not far from Nelson Mandela's residence), and I felt completely safe. Tony is in charge of managing the property, and he runs it like a clock (while giving guests plenty of space and privacy- unlike some other B&Bs I've visited). Graham is in charge of the tours. As Mom suggested you should consider going to the Pilansberg Game Preserve- especially if this is your first time to Africa. And I would also recommend Graham's tour of Soweto- it was a real learning experience for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

On December 25th, my adult son and I (an octogenarian) made a quick three day trip to Johannesburg and were fortunate in being able to stay with Tony and Graham at their Graton Guest House. It is like staying in a private home (which it is) in a lovely quiet and safe neighborhood. Tony had all the Christmas decorating in place. He takes care of the guest house and Graham is in charge of tours and transfers. Everything is immaculate and attention is paid to every detail. Graham met us at the airport, returned us to the airport, and for three days he showed us Jo'burg plus one full day at the Pilansberg Game Reserve - that I loved. I highly recommend the Graton!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are so glad we chose Graton to rest up after the long flight and returned for a second night later in our Africa stay. Graham and Tony could not have made us feel more welcome and made our transports easy despite shifting flight schedules. The rooms are very clean, quiet, beds comfortably firm, and breakfast was varied included ample fresh fruits. They are both interesting conversationalists and we learned a great deal about life in SA and Joburg from them. The neighborhood is quiet and diverse, with local restaurants an easy walk away, however they offered to drive us, and joined us for a very enjoyable dinner out night. We feel lucky to have picked Graton and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony46052, Owner at Graton Guest House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Erika & Hugh for the lovely review - it's a two-way process though - friendly guests, with an enquiring mind and wanting to get the most out of their stay in Joburg especially as we don't have the best image, make our job so much easier. G&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Graton in Jo'burg was our first guesthouse in South Africa. Tony welcomed us with a nice glass of cool white wine on the veranda facing the beautiful garden. What a warm welcome! And what a friendly and entertaining host!

The next day Graham took us to Soweto and the Apartheid Museum. On our way to Soweto we stopped on various places where Graham told us all about the history of Jo'burg. Soweto and the museum are both very impressive. We highly recommend this trip!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent almost two weeks in South Africa and decided to end it in Johannesburg. Thanks to the Trip Advisor we found this lovely place. The host picked us up at the airport. The house is located in a very nice residential area. It has beautiful garden with swimming pool and very comfy and cozy chill out room with piano, loads of books and great music selection. When we arrived they served us tea and coffee, and we relaxed for some time in the lovely garden. Tony, the other host joined us later for the history lesson and over a glass of wine we exchanged history lessons about Bosnia and SA. Tony and Graham gave us tips on where to go for dinner and they even drove us to the city. The next day we had a tour with Graham, learning so much about history of SA.
They serve great breakfast either inside our outside.
i can do nothing but recommend Graton house,

Room Tip: Take the tour with Graham to experience Johannesburg and learn about its history
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tony & Graham are supreme hosts. They are warm, friendly, caring folk who make one feel welcome and comfortable. They are keen and willing to be of assistance. My stay was for a week and I couldn't have wished for better. The guest house is magnificent with an ambiance 'par excellence'. Breakfast is plentiful and scrumptious. It's difficult to get out of the 'oh so comfy bed' in the morning. Graton is THE place. Till next time Tony and Graham xxxxxxx kisses, hugs and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graton Guest House

Address: 4 Oaklands Road, Orchards | PO Box 92283, Norwood, Johannesburg 2117, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 double rooms each with TV (over 30 channels to choose from), hairdryer, tea/coffee tray and free Wi-Fi internet access. Offering great breakfasts to start the day and numerous restaurants a few minute's walk away; 20 minutes drive to Melville, Rosebank or Sandton. Bonus of an on-site registered tour guide. Sorry but only children 14+. Discover 5-star hospitality at 3-Star rates! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.