We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graton Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Graton Guest House
4 Oaklands Road, Orchards | PO Box 92283, Norwood, Johannesburg 2117, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fabulous hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are so glad we chose Graton to rest up after the long flight and returned for a second night later in our Africa stay. Graham and Tony could not have made us feel more welcome and made our transports easy despite shifting flight schedules. The rooms are very clean, quiet, beds comfortably firm, and breakfast was varied included ample fresh fruits. They are both interesting conversationalists and we learned a great deal about life in SA and Joburg from them. The neighborhood is quiet and diverse, with local restaurants an easy walk away, however they offered to drive us, and joined us for a very enjoyable dinner out night. We feel lucky to have picked Graton and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony46052, Owner at Graton Guest House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you Erika & Hugh for the lovely review - it's a two-way process though - friendly guests, with an enquiring mind and wanting to get the most out of their stay in Joburg especially as we don't have the best image, make our job so much easier. G&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
28
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Graton in Jo'burg was our first guesthouse in South Africa. Tony welcomed us with a nice glass of cool white wine on the veranda facing the beautiful garden. What a warm welcome! And what a friendly and entertaining host!

The next day Graham took us to Soweto and the Apartheid Museum. On our way to Soweto we stopped on various places where Graham told us all about the history of Jo'burg. Soweto and the museum are both very impressive. We highly recommend this trip!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent almost two weeks in South Africa and decided to end it in Johannesburg. Thanks to the Trip Advisor we found this lovely place. The host picked us up at the airport. The house is located in a very nice residential area. It has beautiful garden with swimming pool and very comfy and cozy chill out room with piano, loads of books and great music selection. When we arrived they served us tea and coffee, and we relaxed for some time in the lovely garden. Tony, the other host joined us later for the history lesson and over a glass of wine we exchanged history lessons about Bosnia and SA. Tony and Graham gave us tips on where to go for dinner and they even drove us to the city. The next day we had a tour with Graham, learning so much about history of SA.
They serve great breakfast either inside our outside.
i can do nothing but recommend Graton house,

Room Tip: Take the tour with Graham to experience Johannesburg and learn about its history
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Tony & Graham are supreme hosts. They are warm, friendly, caring folk who make one feel welcome and comfortable. They are keen and willing to be of assistance. My stay was for a week and I couldn't have wished for better. The guest house is magnificent with an ambiance 'par excellence'. Breakfast is plentiful and scrumptious. It's difficult to get out of the 'oh so comfy bed' in the morning. Graton is THE place. Till next time Tony and Graham xxxxxxx kisses, hugs and thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Tony and Graham are wonderful hosts and our 4 day stay at Graton was the ideal way to recover from jetlag before starting a trip around Africa. They shared their experiences of South Africa past and present and provided a home from home experience so different to that in typical international hotels. An efficient airport pickup and a customised itinery in and around the city exposed us to the breadth of South African history and culture which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had heard from many people that Joburg was not worth visiting and was very unsafe but our time at Graton proved that advice to be very wrong. A great stay - thank you!

Room Tip: Japanese room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After a month camping down South East Africa my sister and I decided to indulge in a little luxury before flying home to England. We found, by chance, Graton guest house and booked for two nights, we were so glad we did, Tony and Graham made us feel so comfortable, as though we were staying with family. The guest house is lovely, situated in a safe and pretty suburb with very comfy beds and an excellent breakfast! Tony and Graham ensured we were looked after amazingly, we were even picked up after our meal to save us walking home in the dark. Graham took us on a tour to the Apatheid museum and a driving tour of Soweto which was extremely informative and very interesting. Overall it was the perfect end to an amazing trip. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASHINGTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Graton Guest House very much. Tony's hospitality was impeccable; he made me feel that I was at home and assisting me to have a good visit was important to him. Graham's tour and transport was also excellent, comfortable, informative, and made Johannesburg feel safe. It was cold while we were there and the heating in the bathroom was not great, but there was sufficient heat in the bedroom and the cold was apparently very unusual, so much so that Tony came and picked us up from a local restaurant he had seen us in so we wouldn't have to walk in the cold. the house is very comfortable and pleasant; breakfast was plentiful and tasty. There is nothing bad about this place or the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Graton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graton Guest House

Address: 4 Oaklands Road, Orchards | PO Box 92283, Norwood, Johannesburg 2117, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 5 double rooms each with TV (over 30 channels to choose from), hairdryer, tea/coffee tray and free Wi-Fi internet access. Offering great breakfasts to start the day and numerous restaurants a few minute's walk away; 20 minutes drive to Melville, Rosebank or Sandton. Bonus of an on-site registered tour guide. Sorry but only children 14+. Discover 5-star hospitality at 3-Star rates! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Graton Guest House to your Saves list