We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good transfer Hotel, Thank you Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Thambo Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good transfer Hotel, Thank you Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Thambo Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Thank you Protea Hotel, for making the stay so much better this time around.
Front office staff very friendly and efficient. We made the booking online and very happy to say, no problems at all.
Will definitely recommend and will stay in your Hotel again in future.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
9
30
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a perfect pick for who needs to transfer to another international destination and want to stay at the airport. From deplaning to room: 15 minutes. Room has all you need. Reasonable rate, however depends on deal. Don't stay here longer then an overnight as there is no daylight in room.

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this place for one night . We will be staying there on the way back again. Its ok hotel but good price for short stay. Overnight transit in JoBurg for us that was the convenient & cheaper option. we had a dinner there which was very nice. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here after an overnight transit in JoBurg. It's convenient if you have late arrival and early departure.
The rooms themselves are ok, spacious, clean and quiet (room 410), however in this room there are no windows! I'm not sure if all rooms are the same but I'd not want to stay here more than a quick sleep!
Wifi is good and free during the stay. No food available so if you need something in the middle of the night, too bad as the airport food outlets close about 11pm

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I guess the only thing going for this hotel is convenience if you don't want to go through immigration. It's expensive for what it provides and I was disappointed with the quality of service from the miserable staff. Overall, the Citylodge at OR Tambo is far superior for a cheaper price. I suggest you go through immigration and take the short, easy walk to Citylodge than stay at the poor quality, over-priced Transit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued GUEST ,


Thank you for taking time to give us your most valuable feedback.
We are glad that you experienced the hassle free convinience of not having to clear customs.
We do however sincerely apologise that our STAFF were not as pleasant as they ought to have been during your checking in and checking out processes or at any other time that you had contact with them. We have since investigated the matter further and have not only addressed the responsible individuals but each and every one of our STAFF members. You are our most valuable shareholder and it is our duty to make your stay as favourable and pleasant as possible. Please do allow us to show you our true hospitality the next time you are in transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I do not like to complain and have a general distaste for writing a bad review. But it cannot be helped this time since this hotel basically robbed us.

We stayed at Protea Transit O.R. Tambo during a 12 hour layover. We probably could have left the airport and gone to a regular hotel, but we liked the idea of not having to go out through customs, pay for a cab and then come back through security the next day (you do still have to go through passport control and security to get to the hotel, though.)

I will start with the positives. The room was clean and well designed and quiet; it was also nice to be able to sleep and get up and head right to the gate. That's it.

The negatives... First, the person at the desk was not particularly pleasant, and I don't just mean to us. Another guest had a quick question involving the WiFi and we were more than happy to let her ask her question, but the person at the desk snapped at her to get in line.

When we checked in, she said she needed our credit card to charge us for the room. We told her the room was already paid for in advance. She argued that it wasn't and snapishly told us that we'd need to show her proof that it was, otherwise she was going to charge us the price of the room. We produced a printed copy of our online receipt and showed it to her. She told us that what was on that sheet was simply a deposit and that it wasn't a charge, so she needed to charge us now. We tried to argue that the sheet doesn't say anything about a deposit and that it was charged to our credit card. She refused to believe the printed receipt and told us "it's a deposit, it's just not labeled properly on that sheet."

Well, after flying for 14 and a half hours and getting virtually no sleep on the flight, there was very little energy left in us to argue the point anymore, especially with someone who appeared to be in an unpleasant mood. Also, there seemed to be few choices left to us. We either pay again and HOPE she is right about the deposit that either isn't on our card or is returned to us once we pay, or we leave and go sleep at the gate, even though we've paid for a room. We chose the path of least resistance and assumed, at the very least, this could be cleared up with a phone call once we returned home and had our statements handy.

Upon returning home from our trip, we checked our credit card statement and, sure enough, we had been charged twice for the room. And as others have stated, the rooms are not cheap, you pay a premium for the convenience of staying in the airport, especially when, like us, you stay longer than the usual 6 hours.

We called Protea and were shuffled around and eventually told they would look into it. We waited and heard nothing. We called them again. Again we were told they were checking into it and would let us know. We waited another week and tried calling and writing them emails, only to get form emails in response.

Finally, after 3-4 weeks, they responded that we needed to fill out a long form and include with it scanned images of our passports and the front AND back of our credit card for them to continue. I'm sorry, but I will NOT send an image of the front and back of my credit card and passport numbers through an EMAIL. Something like that should only be done on a secure server, not something as flippant as an email! So, now we seem to be stuck again.

If the biggest issue were a crabby front desk person, that's something I can deal with, everyone has a bad day. I'm not fussy and I don't expect perfection. What I do expect is not to be stolen from by a major hotel chain and then be forced to jump through progressively smaller hoops in an attempt to reclaim my money.

If you are travelling through O.R. Tambo International Airport and have a particularly long layover, don't stay here. You won't save a lot of time or effort, since you have to go through security and passport control to get to the hotel anyway, and you certainly won't save money. And, from our experience, if you have any issues, don't expect to ever have them resolved. The money we paid, and subsequently paid again, would have easily bought us an even nicer room at an upscale hotel outside the airport and left us with less hassle and better treatment.

This hotel and its parent company have put a sour taste on an otherwise fun family vacation and they should be ashamed at their complete lack of anything resembling customer service, from the front desk all the way up to the corporate level.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued GUEST ,


Thank you for taking the time togive us the very valid feedback.
We have since addressed your complain with therelevant person whowas on dutyand allother STAFF Members to ensure that we never have a re-occurence of such an event.

Pleasedo accept my sincerest apologies and kindly allow us to make up for it when you are next in Transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

The hotel is ideally situated within the airport, which is perfect if you want to stay over between flights, as I had to do in December. The rooms are more than adequate and nicely furnished. However, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired, especially given the price of staying in this hotel.
When I arrived after a really long flight from the US, I had to wait over an hour in the queue to get to the reception, only to be told to come back in 3 hours time because they did not have a room for me yet! How is this possible considering I had booked months before?
I eventually had to use my lounge access to be able to find a decent place to relax and even had to use the lounge shower facilities.
So I paid for a full stay but only got about half of that back in servcie - really a poor show Protea!
At the end of the day, you don't really have a choice about using this hotel if you want to stay in the airport, so they have you by the proverbial.
Would I use it again - guess I have no choice do I?

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Valued GUEST ,



Thank you for taking your time to give us such valuable feedback.
It is our duty to make you feel Welcomed and as comfortable as possible.We do apologise that we did not meet that important aspect of your stay.We have since addressed your concerns raised with all STAFF members concerned. Please do allow us to make up for it when you are next in Transit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.