We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Dunster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Emergency stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

During a flight from Heathrow to Lilongwe we had a stop in Johannesburg.
This was an unplanned stop and we needed secure, comfortable within the airport complex.
We were given a list of possible hotels including the Transit Hotel. This hotel is airside and very secure, a lift takes you from the hotel reception area to the departure area of the airport. Very little walking from hotel to departure gate was therefore needed.
The staff were very helpful and friendly whilst being professional. I thank them for this.
The room and facilities provided were very good. Do not expect good views from the windows of your room, keep the curtains closed and enjoy the room. We had a good nights sleep before continuing our journey. There is no restaurant in the hotel but you have access to the food areas of the departure area. When checking the room prior to leaving we found, via a leaflet on the bedside table, that there is a takeaway service provided to the hotel. We would have used this the previous evening if we had been aware of this.
I can without hesitation recommend this hotel if you need an over night stop over whilst in transit. The hotel does what it says!
Perhaps there are other cheaper hotels in the area but my concern was for good, secure, accessible accommodation within easy walking distance of the departure gates.

Room Tip: For an over night stay in an airport I just wanted a clean comfortable room with ensuite facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mike C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this complementary review!

We pride ourselves on being able to offer long-haul passengers such as you a clean and comfortable place to stay. Our Front Desk TEAM is well versed when it comes to treating our GUESTS with the warm and welcoming reception they so richly deserve.

Please rest assured that I will pass your compliments on to our entire TEAM, as there is no better motivational tool than knowing that you are ‘getting it right’.

We are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you back! Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards,

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
20
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel was easy to locate and very conveniently positioned.Not having to exit customs was great and the hotel afforded a nice quiet sleep/rest.The room was basic but clean.One gripe was the lack of bath-towels so we used hand-towels instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Stuart R,

Thank you for taking the time to write this complementary review!

We pride ourselves on being able to offer long-haul passengers such as you a clean and comfortable place to stay. Our Front Desk TEAM is well versed when it comes to treating our GUESTS with the warm and welcoming reception they so richly deserve.

Please rest assured that I have addressed the lack of towels, in your room with our entire TEAM. This is definitely not our standard and will ensure that this will not happen again.

We are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you back! Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards,

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

As we were on our route to an exotic destination, due to our 20 hour transit time, we had no choice but to select this hotel. There is no other choice in the airport. Everything else is outside and requires a visa. Check in process was smooth. Long walk to the room. All rooms are non-smoking and it is a super long walk to the smoking lounge located in the Johannesburg duty free area. Room was clean, efficient. Towels were ok. There were hardly any amenities and bathroom supplies, which considering the rather high price you pay for the room is a disappointment. The view was as good as zero. The only "exciting" thing to do was to walk around the duty free area. There was no food provided in the hotel, as they have no kitchen. So the only option for any guest is to go to the duty free restaurants. We were glad to have a private space and hot water, but we were gladder to leave.

Room Tip: Not really. All rooms have almost no view. Get caged in, sleep it off and get on the next flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear anish3075,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body.

Apologies that we did not have much to offer - but most of our GUESTS make use of our Duty Free area.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I spent a night at the Transit Hotel after Lufthansa grudgingly put me up after messing my connecting flight. The hotel front desk is located down the hallway after passing through security for connecting flights inside the international transit zone in the upper level. The rooms are located on the 3rd floor.

The room was good sized and the furnishings were nice. Contrary to what I have been used to, the TV was in the middle of room (see picture). I was surprised in a good way that the bathroom had a tub and a shower stall.

There was a concierge desk on the 3rd floor but no one was available except in the morning when I checked out. At the time of check-in, I was given a voucher for internet access (I don’t remember how much data was complimentary) but it was limited. I wasn’t aware of the room rate per night but when I checked it later, I was astonished that unlimited internet was not included in the room rate. Since I had flown two long haul flights, I was too tired so didn’t use all of the data. The TV channels were limited as well.

Overall, it is expensive and at least unlimited internet should be included for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear PJ_Globetrotter,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body.

We offer all our CLIENTS 500MG complimentary internet access, should our GUESTS require more they are more than welcome to purchase it a the reception desk.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRand Rapids MI
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the greeting at the door to Check out the hotel was amazing. The reception area and restaurant Quill are beautiful. The guest rooms are perfect and very well appointed, I lacked for nothing. Wish I could have stayed longer. The only down side is it is at the airport and you have a long way to get anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear hornsbyks,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body. Glad to hear that we provided just that...

I do hope that the TEAM of Protea Hotel Tranist will be able to host you again, in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel itself is perfect for a layover with late night flights. The bed was comfortable. There was a nice shower and amenities, as well as coffee and tea. It is conveniently located within the terminal for dining and shopping.
I agree with another reviewer's comments about check-in. We were fortunate being the only ones checking in. But I passed through the lobby area several times, and it seemed very disorganized. We never did receive the wake-up call we requested, but we only use those as a back up.
We had a difficult time coming from Victoria Falls as we had to clear customs and get our luggage, which took us out of the terminal. We arrived in the late afternoon and had to carry our bags to the airline for check-in. Only because they were very nice at Kenya Airways and kept the bags in the office (since they were not checking in until 8 p;.m.) were we able to make this work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Denise S,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body.

With regards to you not receiving your wake up call. I have immediately addressed this with the front office TEAM, to avoid this from re-occurring. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had to "eat" our prepaid reservation here, because we needed to get our luggage and clear customs at JNB. Unfortunately, once we exited the area, we could not get back in to the transit area, and since we had booked our reservation "online", the hotel would not transfer us to the Protea outside of the airport. This was disappointing since we had to pay for a different hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Swannygal,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and it is disappointing that many of the concerns could have been prevented. We are grateful that you took the time to communicate these shortfalls to us and to allow us the opportunity to attend to areas of concern and ensure that preventative measures are tightened and monitored more closely.

However, please note for future travel that once a GUEST collects luggage or clears customs, they are not allowed to re-enter the gates. Yes completely frustrating, but that is one of the rules of the airport.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly gm@proteahoteltransit.co.za;

Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.