We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
GRand Rapids MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the greeting at the door to Check out the hotel was amazing. The reception area and restaurant Quill are beautiful. The guest rooms are perfect and very well appointed, I lacked for nothing. Wish I could have stayed longer. The only down side is it is at the airport and you have a long way to get anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
3
15
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is perfect for a layover with late night flights. The bed was comfortable. There was a nice shower and amenities, as well as coffee and tea. It is conveniently located within the terminal for dining and shopping.
I agree with another reviewer's comments about check-in. We were fortunate being the only ones checking in. But I passed through the lobby area several times, and it seemed very disorganized. We never did receive the wake-up call we requested, but we only use those as a back up.
We had a difficult time coming from Victoria Falls as we had to clear customs and get our luggage, which took us out of the terminal. We arrived in the late afternoon and had to carry our bags to the airline for check-in. Only because they were very nice at Kenya Airways and kept the bags in the office (since they were not checking in until 8 p;.m.) were we able to make this work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Denise S,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body.

With regards to you not receiving your wake up call. I have immediately addressed this with the front office TEAM, to avoid this from re-occurring. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to "eat" our prepaid reservation here, because we needed to get our luggage and clear customs at JNB. Unfortunately, once we exited the area, we could not get back in to the transit area, and since we had booked our reservation "online", the hotel would not transfer us to the Protea outside of the airport. This was disappointing since we had to pay for a different hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Swannygal,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations and it is disappointing that many of the concerns could have been prevented. We are grateful that you took the time to communicate these shortfalls to us and to allow us the opportunity to attend to areas of concern and ensure that preventative measures are tightened and monitored more closely.

However, please note for future travel that once a GUEST collects luggage or clears customs, they are not allowed to re-enter the gates. Yes completely frustrating, but that is one of the rules of the airport.

Should you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me directly gm@proteahoteltransit.co.za;

Kind Regards,
Siphiwe Masete
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goma, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's good enough if you are just looking for a comfortable bed to sleep between flights. Make sure you bring a snack and toothpaste when you arrive in the middle of the night, because those were not available. One more advice: If you are coming into South Africa in Johannesburg and then you continue on a DOMESTIC flight you HAVE TO pick up your luggage and check them in again afterwards. If you don't do that you might end up without your luggage for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear HichamDaoudi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

As a hotel specifically accommodating in-transit passengers - our unique location in the airport’s international terminal ensures that those looking to venture out in to the duty free mall are able to do so with ease.

You can tailor suit these to your preference, and of course, after a long flight, and whilst awaiting that connection flight, rest and relaxation in a comfortable environment is vital. We do offer complimentary toothbrushes and shaving kits, at our 24hour reception should our GUESTS require it.

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you’re travelling, so that we can ensure you another comfortable stay.

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here 1 night on my way to Mozambique. It was not easy to find, and it took 20 minutes to check in. The staff seemed unclear about how to handle more than one client at a time. My room was far away, through an endless corridor that seemed like a maze. The room was comfortable, although the furniture was worn and soiled. Logging in to the wireless network was a challenge, and I had to call the front desk for help. I requested a wake up call, and got one 2 hours later, even though it wasn't the time I had requested. The original wake up call I requested never came.

Room Tip: There doesn't seem to be a way to request a room. The place was booked solid when I was there, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MrsJAtlanta,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Such reviews are extremely helpful in order to assist us with where we are going right and most importantly where we are going wrong.

Your overall experience is totally unacceptable as this is certainly not Protea Hotel Transit’s standard and I would like to sincerely apologise for this and assure you that I have personally addressed your concerns.

We will be doing a full investigation regarding the 2 hour late wake up call. I must apologize most sincerely about the inconvenience caused.

Once again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Transit in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Siphiwe Masete
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Very convenient place to stay overnight between flights. You pass through security and are back in the airport, and thus, can come and go to eat, walk, shop, exercise, etc, without bags and without having to go through security for onward flights. It really works quite well. The rooms are good sized, well equipped and quiet. The staff are pleasant and quite helpful. Terrific option and quite easy to navigate!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Capecodrev,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body. Glad to hear that we provided just that...

I do hope that the TEAM of Protea Hotel Tranist will be able to host you again, in the near future.

Thank you.

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in the transit hotel when returning from Europe in my way to Mozambique. After an 11 hour flight and having to spend the night for an early flight the day after, had no intention to go to the city. Found the hotel very comfortable, with all the airport facilities just one step outside, mean restaurant, shops, etc.
Room is very big, completely soundproof with all required facilities there. Really a hotel to be used for overnight in Johannesburg

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear AbelardoC,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on being able to offer long-haul passengers such as you a clean and comfortable place to stay. Our entireTEAM is well versed when it comes to treating our GUESTS with the warm and welcoming reception they so richly deserve.

Please rest assured that I will pass your compliments on to our entire TEAM, as there is no better motivational tool than knowing that you are ‘getting it right’.

We are thoroughly looking forward to welcoming you back! Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards,

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.