We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
1 review
“Awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The rooms are amazing ,good Internet,the problem my friends were trapped in the elevator. But are all we enjoyed our stay. Hope to come again next time and hopefully for a longer period. Keep up the good wook guyz...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear tracy c,

Many thanks indeed for posting such a complimentary review!

The mission of Protea Hotel Transit is to provide a certain convenience and a clean and quiet environment to our GUESTS, as we know just how exhausting long-haul traveling can be on the body. Hearing that you enjoyed your room and our complimentary WiFi lets us know that we are getting ‘it’ right!

In regards to the malfunctioning elevator, I am terribly sorry for this, it is rather distressing that an easily avoidable issue such as this occurred. Please rest assured that our TEAM is already on it!

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
9
33
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had an 8 hour layover between flights and booked a room here. I found the hotel fine and check in was easy - staff were pleasant and welcoming. The room has no windows - which is fine - but it is a bit disconcerting in terms of time. No natural light so I was checking my watch because it felt a bit like night time all the time.

The lack of windows didn't bother me - more important was a clean room (tick), good TV (tick), tea making in room (tick), comfortable bed (tick) and good shower (tick). Shops are close, one level away, so no problem getting food, and I saw a room service menu in the room. A much better option than sitting in a chair in the terminal for 8 hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Mazza 57

Our most sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. Being a Transit hotel, and thus located in the airport terminal, what was most important was keeping noise and sound to a minimum, and also due to airport security reasons, our rooms need to be well insulated. This was also important for our valued GUESTS to be able to get that much-needed rest between flights.

For a hotel such as ours, convenience is key. We are thrilled to hear that our facilities and STAFF met your expectations.

Please feel free to contact me personally when next you’ll be transiting in Jo’burg, our TEAM would love to be afforded the opportunity to do even better, and exceed your expectations!

Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

You certainly can't beat the location of this hotel. I booked online and had a smooth check in. I was happy to be able to get some sleep, do some work, pop out for dinner, shower and go. It really made my flight after a lot more relaxed. I would definitely recommend this place for anyone with a layover of several hours.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear GolbL

There are not enough words to convey our appreciation for your review! Receiving feedback such as yours from our treasured GUESTS is highly motivational. Please be ensured that I will convey your views to our hotel TEAM.

Affording our GUESTS a fittingly comfortable and convenient experience before boarding their next tedious flight is exactly what we are all about. Thank you once again for choosing Protea Hotel Transit, and we hope to be given the honour of hosting you again soon!

Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Horrible experience !!! unhelpful, unfriendly service !!!! Uneducated staff when bookings online is made. Wrong dates, wrong invoice, wrong quote !!!!! I I will avoid the Transit Hotel the next time I travel. Long waiting queues to book in at front desk. One unfriendly front desk staff. Protea Hotel, please send your staff for customer services courses. In all the Protea Hotels stayed over the years, disappointed to stay that the Transit Protea is from the same Hotel Group.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Chad and Daleen G

There are not enough words to convey to you our appreciation for your review.

It is highly disturbing that you found your stay with us to be anything besides satisfactory, and we have since conducted a thorough investigation in to what went wrong with your stay.

After analyzing your grievances, it has come to light that you had initially booked your stay on our 6 hour occupancy rate. Upon arrival, it was explained that you were staying overnight - for close to 12 hours – and as such should have been booked on our 12-18 hour rate.

Please be assured that the unacceptable manner in which our front desk STAFF handled your situation is being dealt with bt our Management TEAM to ensure that there is not a repetition of such incidences.

We must sincerely apologise for the overall manner in which your entire reservation process and stay were handled; this is not at all typical of the stellar service that we pride ourselves on delivering to our valued GUESTS.

We will endeavour to use this as a motivational tool in order to help our STAFF improve their GUEST interaction and experience, by continuously providing superior skills development and training.

Thanks again for taking the time to give us such valued feedback, take care and travel safely.
Kind Regards

Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stopped over for one night on our way back from our safari ready to fly out the day after to Mauritius.
Positives: hotel has clean rooms and free wifi was very welcome especially when you are on holiday.
Food average, public areas with garden and pool were really nice.
Main massive downside was the unfriendly staff who certainly did not make us feel welcome at anytime
When we checked in we just stood at the desk and waited for four staff to look up and speak to us. Obviously the Africans don't care for us white Brits!

Perhaps they should realise we are paying their wages!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice hotel overlooking Johannesburg Intl airport. The rooms were comfortable enough for an overnight stay with plenty of wall outlets and a nice shower and tv. The restaurant was inexpensive and had great food and a nice breakfast spread. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Cougpilot
Many thanks indeed for such a complimentary and succinct review. Protea hotel Transit prides itself on delivering to our valued GUESTS a refreshing and comfortable stay, and the swift service that is an absolute must in a Transit hotel. The fact that you were well-assisted and welcomed by our STAFF not only shows us that we are getting it right, but also motivates us to do even better.
We are thoroughly looking forward to your next stay. Until then, safe travels!

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Really worth if you are transfering with more than 5 hours, not much too see in the free shop stores really, most of them sell the same thing.
Grab an ice cream get a room and get some rest for the rest of your trip.
Room is very nice with comfortable shower and all you need.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the runway view, other wise the view is not that good (but if plan to sleep this does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH-Transit, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear pablodedominicis\

There are not enough words to describe how thankful we are for your review. As a hotel specifically accommodating in-transit passengers, we offer unique day use rates, as in your case, which means our GUESTS only pay for the number of hours they stay.

You can tailor suit these to your preference, and of course, after a long flight to Johannesburg, and whilst awaiting that connection flight, rest and relaxation in a comfortable environment is vital. Our unique location in the airport’s international terminal ensures that those looking to venture out in to the duty free mall are able to do so with ease.

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you’re travelling, so that we can ensure you another comfortable stay.

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.