We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convienent locationwise, service needs to be enhanced on peak times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very convienent locationwise, service needs to be enhanced on peak times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A lovely transit hotel, great rooms ( a bit less quality thou than other protea hotels though), very convenient if you are on transit , however I have to say that last time it look me more than an hour to check in, there were more than 20 people and only one person checking everyone in! It would have been more time efficient actually go out and stay at one of the hotels around the airport. It took me all in all 2 hours to get to my room since my flight landed with all the queues at the hotel and passport & security checks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear engy a

Welcome back to the Johannesburg and thank you for visiting Protea Hotel Transit OR Tambo Airport.

Your comments regarding the check-in process are very concerning to hear as this is not the standard that we are usually proud to offer. Please be assured that I will be addressing the issues raised with TEAM.

I look forward to your next visit and speedy check-in to your room.

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    23
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
13
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I use to stay every 2 months when travelling back home. My connection flight is over 16 hours and I have to spend the night there. Rooms are big and clean, bed is very comfortable, staff is very helpful and nice (it depends how you treat them of course). 100 MB of internet traffic for free is always well accepted, but in my opinion the quota is too low.
Very good position in the transit area, so no need to pass the Customs and check in.
The price is little bit too high for SA standard, but I guess you will spend more if you take a taxi and you go to another hotel nearby.
Restaurant and snack bar in the airport have good quality food (but not so many choices) and good prices.
I do not want to change this hotel with another one around the airport. For a traveler is a very good option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear DavideBali

Thank you for your continuous support of Protea Hotel Transit OR Tambo Airport.

Offering friendly and efficient hospitality is of high importance to us. We also understand the importance of getting some rest before departing for the next leg of your travels. I am happy that your room and bed was to your liking.

We hope to see you again in the next 2 months.

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Clean and comfortable. We had a 6 hour stopover in j'berg and staying there for about 5 hours certainly beat walking around the terminal for that time.
The bed was comfortable and the shower was large and inviting. Highly recomended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear rodgs

Thank you for your words of recommendation that you mentioned on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Transit O R Tambo International Airport.

We are glad that we were able to offer you some comfort during your recent stopover in Johannesburg and I will be sure to congratulate the TEAM on their efforts.

I hope that the rest of your travels went well and that we’ll be welcoming you back in transit soon.

Kind Regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit OR Tambo Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The JNB Protea Transient Hotel was a great option to avoid the hassles of being transferred to an offsite hotel and back the next morning. You also avoid all the hassles of checking back in at the airport, dealing with checked baggage, customs, security, etc. when you have a connecting flight the next day. The hotel was more expensive, but we had a nice room and convenience was essential during this leg of the trip.

Be sure to check luggage through to your final destination.

The room was a nice size, complete with tub, shower, TV, desk, couch, chairs, hair dryer, free Internet access, etc. We would definitely stay in the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from busy hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 2010Travelers

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor. Your time taken to point out all of the positive aspects of Protea Hotel Transit, from the convenient location to the room, is appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Southern Africa and hope that you had a safe trip back to the United States.

Kind regards
Siphiwe Masete
General Manager
Protea Hotel Transit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a nice hotel, definitely a 4 star accommodation, but like all Protea Hotels in which I stayed the Wi-Fi service is extremely difficult to access, especially for persons using Apple products. Angry customers were lined up at the reception desk seeking new daily passwords, trying to log on, and discovering that if they did not log out immediately the meter kept spinning on their meager daily allotment. Protea is a wonderful chain, I stayed at 4 of their hotels in September 2012, totaling 13 nights and every one was a nightmare with Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for taking the time to review Protea Hotel Transit during your most recent stay at the hotel. We do appreciate your most valuable feedback.

We have been experiencing signal issues within our hotel, but can assure you that this has been taken up with our service provider that services the entire O R Tambo International Airport. I would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused to you because of this and assure you that we will do our utmost best to have this problem rectified.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Transit in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Renée Woods
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The one significant positive for this hotel: not being required to leave the Johannesburg airport. This is not a minor point. Johannesburg can be a mess, and for certain travelers, it can be dangerous. You don't need to collect your bags: just check them through to your final destination (and let the baggage handlers at JNB pilfer them) and kick back for the night at this hotel.

Another positive, albeit minor: the rooms are comfortable, and the beds are excellent after a multi-day trip.

However, overall, this hotel is awful. I can't stress that more. First, service is atrocious. It's almost like the hotel staff is trying to ignore their clients. Second, and very importantly: there **is no option for food but in the airport terminal**, which closes at 22:00. If your plane lands at 21:15, hopefully you ate on the plane. Protea, there is no room service at this hotel?! Of all hotels, anywhere in southern Africa, you don't provide international travelers with an option to get room service, at least until, say, 23:30?? This is illogical and represents utter laziness on the part of this hotel chain. Let me repeat, laziness.

Furthermore, the toilets don't flush properly (we've stayed in three different rooms with this same problem). The entertainment centers in the rooms sit directly... in... the... middle... of the room. I know it's hard to picture, but think of the craziest placement of a huge-screen tv in a hotel room, and this place has it. Finally, this hotel is not cheap: you'll pay US$300 for a room with all of the above wonderful characteristics.

In general, this hotel is convenient, but that's it. Skip it if you can.

Room Tip: They're all the same: poorly laid-out and expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Mapagr,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor for your recent stay at Protea Hotel Transit. Such reviews are extremely helpful in order to assist us with were we are going right and most importantly were we are going wrong.

The service level that you have experienced from our Front Desk STAFF is certainly not Protea Hotel Transit’s standard and I would like to sincerely apologise for this and assure you that I have personally addressed the department on this matter. Please be advised that although we do not have a restaurant within the hotel, we do offer room service that is available until 22h00. Within Duty Free there is a 24 hour bar available from Ekaya Restaurant that serves drinks and meals throughout the night, as well as Mugg & Bean Restaurant opened a new store within Duty Free this weekend and they are open 24 hours with a full service restaurant.

We will be doing a full investigation regarding the toilet flushes. I apologise that in each room you have stayed in the toilet did not flush properly. I would like to ensure that these rooms are checked and correctly fixed should they not be in working order.

Once again I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Transit in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Renée Woods
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

After a long flight from Sydney, this was a welcome, wonderfully comfortable break, before a flight to Namibia the next day. The hotel is just after the transit connection security checks, and so you have access to all the airport's shops and cafes/bars/restaurants (the hotel does not have a restaurant) directly from the hotel. The shower is wonderful, the bed incredibly comfortable, wi-fi fast and 100M included in the room rate, staff efficient and pleasant. It may be more expensive than some other airport hotels, but for the convenience of not having to leave the airport, and only leaving your hotel room an hour before the connecting flight time (no need to go through security again), it was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your words of recommendation on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Transit O R Tambo International Airport. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us.
We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Transit O R Tambo International Airport and to hear from you again in future!

Kind Regards,

Renée Woods
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport

Address: Exclusively for Guests in International Transit | Terminal A, O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg 1627, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE PROTEA HOTEL TRANSIT O.R. TAMBO AIRPORT IS EXCLUSIVELY FOR GUESTS IN INTERNATIONAL TRANSIT. Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport - A Classical African Experience for transient travellers. The Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, situated behind Immigrations inside international departures at OR Tambo International Airport, offers a welcome opportunity for transient travellers to rejuvenate between international flights. As the only hotel in this location, we offer the utmost convenience to all international travellers in transit – catering to your specific needs. Be it a refreshing shower or a quick nap on our comfortable beds before you board your next long flight; Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport is the perfect choice for you! The classic and modern Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport ensures that you receive fast, efficient and friendly service, from express check in to check out. Our location also offers you the opportunity to roam the wide selection of retail shops and restaurants should you have the time. We have taken every measure to ensure that your stay with us is as convenient and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.