We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUN1 Southgate

SUN1 Southgate
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SUN1 Southgate
Save
You added SUN1 Southgate to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Colombine and Rifle Range | Southgate, Johannesburg 2111 , South Africa (Formerly Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“affordable and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

nice place for a short stay, small, smart and clean toilet. aircons working perfectly, simply breakfast, and lots n lots of shopping therapy across the road. absolutely fab. would recommend anyone who wants to enjoy shopping in southgate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me and my wife was booked at the F1 for about 2 weeks every day we re booked ,till it just had to be for one silly idiot that said why are we staying so long try d to make fun of us in front of his frnd .the next day We try d to book told us they were fully booked so we had to make another plan.while we were waiting for our transport about 3 people walked in and booked on the spot I asked one of them did they book in advance replied no it was the 1st time coming there ,so why were we turned down after wasting all that money at the formula 1 in south gate. Ill call it racist but thanx to a guy called Lucky I will let every 1 no in south africa What service you guys give . My tell 0732982559

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilorin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is an idea place for short stay, after the indaba 2012, we moved to this hotel for 2 nights stay.
it is neat and clean.everything in the hotel is unique except that it is small.it is not ideal for long stay.

Room Tip: you need to find a place to eat since the hotel does not have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Excellent hotel for the money you give. Opt Formula 1 Hotel for a short stay, very good for travellers, Small, clean well maintained rooms and toilet. Good friendly staff and located at heart of city. Very cheap for the facility offered. Most I liked is the ecofriendly lighting system which looks advanced and works/looks very good.

Room Tip: Looking for value for money, then take this
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chungju, South Korea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We moved to this place for two nights after a horrible bed bug experience at a place nearby. The rooms were a little small, but very cute, though the sink was across the room from the bathroom. There was no door to the shower, and our bathroom door must have not been completely sealed, because water got all over the floor in front of the bathroom. Everybody was very nice and very accommodating to us, even though we were a group of 20 booking last minute. Breakfast was always kept stocked even with other guests coming in and out as well.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My two sons and I stayed at this hotel in July and again in August. Both times were for 1 night as we caught connecting flights the next morning. The room was small but we only needed a place to stay so for 399 ZAR it was great value. The additional cost breakfast was OK, but .. there was a lot of sugary foodstuffs. However, the breakfast certainly carried us along to the airport better than THREE empty stomachs would have.

The rooms was clean with enough soap and towels for the 3 of us. Cramped, but good. I would stay there again as the 2 different experiences staying there were both good :-)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Formula 1 in Southgate is very well located near Johannesburg's major international airport. The rooms are really small although they do accommodate up to three people, but the small space has been so diligently used that you hardly notice it! The room I stayed in was clean, and well air conditioned, but what I really liked about the place was how technologically advanced it is compared to most motels. Light switches are conveniently placed just above the bed's head board and with a simple touch or two you can moderate how dim or bright you want your room to be. The taps are also "techy" and you don't have to turn on any light at the sink. The light switches on automatically eveytime you approach the sink!
I enjoyed my time there, but I found the price (five hundred and something rands at the time) to be slightly hefty. Especially since breakfast wasn't included. If it weren't for the faulty coffee machine, and the lack of breakfast (they were under renuvations at the time), and the not-so-affordable price, I'd give it a 5/5.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUN1 Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUN1 Southgate

Address: Cnr Colombine and Rifle Range | Southgate, Johannesburg 2111 , South Africa (Formerly Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate)
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Hotel Class:1 star — SUN1 Southgate 1*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Formula 1 Johannesburg Southgate Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUN1 Southgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.