We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Peacefil Surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valverde Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added Valverde Country Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Valverde Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beyers Naude Extension, Muldersdrif, 1748, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Peacefil Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful place with the most beautiful views, Valverde Hotel is for you. My husband and I had the most Romantic evening. The morning Breakfast is a huge feast of choices. Pam & Quino, the owners are very hospitable and caring towards their guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top rooms where the sun comes in are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Valverde Country Hotel is a fun, friendly family hotel. They cater for all a persons needs. They have a new restaurant called the Fat Olive. We had a lovely lunch there. The service was very personal and the chef came out to chat to us and ask us our comments and said he could make anything that our hearts desired . Our room was fresh and spacious. Its a kind of room that you can relax in and unwind after a busy day traveling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The venue works for larger business meetings as it also caters for weddings. The food is excellent, BUT, the accommodation lacks refinement. My room had a king size bed, but really not comfortable. Seemed like an over used mattress. The venue is in need of maintenance and paint. Some plug sockets did not work, TV did not have remote on/off - so had to get out of bed to switch off. The last night we had no hot water. The catering however was excellent throughout. The proximity to Lanseria Airport should count positively to the venue, but the security of the area is to be verified.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms 14 - 16 are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinoMalaga, General Manager at Valverde Country Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We have, since you stayed here, upgraded most of the facilities and done a lot of work in the rooms. It would be great to have ypu back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I really didn't like much about this hotel, I was part of a conference group but I was fortunate I could step away for a couple of days to catch up. There has to be some investment to "spruce" the place up. I was allocated the "honeymoon suite", I think to be fair, this place has its own audience and some of my colleagues really enjoyed it. I was ready to leave as soon as I walked into the room, it is old and uninspiring, the smell in the bathroom is unbearable, i understand about the sceptic tank and all. Flies were dying all around the room, it was just awful and again this is not really the hotel's fault, it is really an establishment that is in the thick of nature, so there has to be sharing of space and resources with other species, I just didn't appreciate. The conference room was dull and outdated and it is really a very long drive to be this disappointed, I think there could be some investment in the decor. I liked the dining hall though, it looks fresher than the rest of the establishment. There is a lot wrong here, it is not terrible, I must say but I just wanted to run back to my car immediately I walked into the place and I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinoMalaga, Guest Relations Manager at Valverde Country Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Valverde wasn't what you expected. We have followed your recommendation an updated most of the rooms, added new flat screen TV's, etc. we hope next time you come this side you will see all the changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This wedding venue has great atmosphere. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is above average. Great place for photos and comfortable rooms. Excellent value for money! Owners are multi- lingual and knowledgable about area. Ideally situated near Lanseria airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This has to be the worst 'hotel' in Joburg. The room is falling apart, the noise is unbearable and somebody forgot to finish the paint.
The shower door is broken, the toilet holder is broken (and of course they forgot to provide toilet paper) the basin doesnt drian - do I need to on...
The location is ok but the venue also provides wedding functions with the rooms situated above the wedding hall - making it a bit impossible to sleep...
Be warned this is not worth the stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been there some weeks ago, for a week, i like so much, People are very kindly, the room was really nice and clean.
I like the food so much, they cook spanish cousine and many diferente menús
We Will repeat soon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valverde Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valverde Country Hotel

Address: Beyers Naude Extension, Muldersdrif, 1748, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valverde Country Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valverde is a unique country-style venue within the Muldersdrift area offering weddings, conferences and accommodation in 25 country-style rooms. The Spanish touch and personal treatment that our customers receive makes Valverde a truly distinctive choice. We are very proud of being one of the most eco friendly hotels in the country ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Valverde Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valverde Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.