We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for Joburg accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Guest House

Save Saved
You added Saffron Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Saffron Guest House
Cnr of 7th Street and 5th Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 229 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great option for Joburg accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I used to live in Joburg and love Melville, so I was pumped to be put up on 7th street where i was there for meetings. And I was not disappointed. This place was really superbly situated, and the rooms are really spacious and comfortable. I loved it! Good breakfast as well. In general staff was great as well. However, as a heads up, it is a bit of a challenge if you don't have cell phone access (as many international travellers do not)--- there are no phones in the room, and no phone at reception if you want to contact people (or people want to contact you) or even order delivery after a long flight. A bit frustrating! But aside from this, the place is great and i would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Steps away from the wonderful restaurants and shops in the Melville neighborhood. Accomodations were very comfortable and the staff always helpful. WiFi works well and the breakfast is excellent. I've been to Joburg many times and this is one of my favorite neighborhoods. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 3 was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a modern and well decorated place. Rooms are large and very confortable. To complete the location is perfect. Close to nice restaurants and coffee shops. Cozy street and very lively area. You can't go wrong! The manager, Emily, is a very sweet person. The whole staff will make you feel home. I'll definetively will be there the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were very impressed with our 2 week stay at Saffron guest House/Johannesburg Suites on 7th in Melville. From the spacious and unique interior design, to the professional management and amazing staff, we could not ask for anything more. I would definitely choose to stay at the suites again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in an artistic & rich in culture community of Johannesburg, South Africa. Breakfast was included with our stay at the delicious Café De La Creme restaurant. Right up the street was our favorite upscale and affordable restaurant Melon. We also enjoyed many nights having cocktails at the cozy and colorful Ratz, a bar that had some of the most delicious foods to pair with your drinks. What a hidden gem was this perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: Love the private patio, a great place to unwind or have your coffee in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My short two night stay gave me a taster for Johannesburg. Emily arranged airport pick up ,tailor made city tour and transfer with a professional reliable driver called Solly. Nothing was a problem. Room very comfortable and clean. Melville may not be Sandton but you get the chance to stay in what appears to be a real neighbourhood with good choice of bars and restaurants. Can't complete this review wihout mentioning breakfast provided by Cafe de la Creme. Vince

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Really enjoyed out time at Saffron. The manager, Emily, was a gracious hostess who really did care that we were comfortable and well informed. We will be back in Jo'burg in one month and will stay at Saffron again. The town of Melville is artsy funky and safe to walk around in, even at night for two women on our own.

Room Tip: If you need a soft bed speak up before you are assigned a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Saffron is one of the best places I have ever stayed. I will always go back. Melville is full of character, and despite a lot going on in the neighborhood, Saffron itself is quiet. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are spacious, very clean, and include everything you need. The wireless worked great, and the breakfast they arrange for you at a local cafe is also wonderful. But above all, and what made Saffron so great for us, is how helpful the staff was. They were so incredibly attentive, accommodating, patient, thorough, and helpful, despite several unexpected changes we had to make during our stay. I won't ever stay anywhere else when I come to Johannesburg!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saffron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saffron Guest House

Address: Cnr of 7th Street and 5th Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saffron Guest House is centrally located in the heart of trendy Melville, close to SABC, Media 24 and the University of Johannesburg. The guest house is on Melville’s vibrant 7th street, which boasts a variety of top restaurants, cocktail lounges, galleries, boutiques, bookstores and coffee shops.Saffron Guest House is close to the main highways and centres of Johannesburg, the closest being Rosebank, Parkhurst and Greenside, as well as many of the city’s tourist attractions, including the Apartheid Museum, Constitutional Court and the Nelson Mandela Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saffron Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.