We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAS THE POTENTIAL TO IMPROVE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shumba Valley Lodge

Save Saved
You added Shumba Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shumba Valley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Jwaneng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HAS THE POTENTIAL TO IMPROVE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a weekend at Shumba Valley Lodge and it was great but not to my expectation for a 4 star hotel. The reception at the Lodge by the front desk officers not perfect, as we arrived no one came to meet us outside as we were usinga big bus at least to find a parking space for us. No one bothered to show us the rooms until we asked for directions to our rooms. The rooms are are quite spacious but were not well cleaned except for the bathroom. The TV was not clear. The food is great and the staff at the kitchen and the bar are exceptional in their service. We did not provide all the information for the diets but they managed to cater those people who needed special diets. Overall the Lodge has the potential to improve their services and cleaniless of the rooms because they used thatched grass. Oh I nearly forgot to mention that the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is in front towards the reception area or facing the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
6
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn,Lancashire,UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I flew into Johannesburg this weekend en-route to Mosambique and my office deided that rather travel all the way into town to have to drive out again to Lanseria Airport in the early hours of Monday that they would put me into the Shumba Valley Lodge which is just 5 mins drive from Lanseria.
Upon arriving at Johannesburg OR Tambo International I was met by one of the Emirates Airlines drivers who I had met previously and he assured me that I would like this place very much.
My arrival was mid morning on a Sunday so the place was pretty well deserted and it was a little cool in the Southern Hemisphere for sitting out in the sun. However my first impressions where very positive the place was like a very tranqil walled in village with around 70 thatched roof chalets and Rondavels plus various conference facilities and a Resturant and Bar area.
My accomadation was chalet number 92 and while it was quite small it was more than adequate the room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. All the bedding was ultra white and crisp and the towels large and fluffy.
The chalet had Tea & Coffee making facilities , free internet,Telephone,Colour Flat screen television with a selection of DSTV channels plus air con and heating.
I had an excellent buffet lunch and later a really good fillet steak for dinner and I couldn't fault either meal other than at dinner time they served me my starter and main course at the same time.
I hope to use this facility the next time I am traveling to Beira via Joburg highly recommended.

Room Tip: They clain that Internet is available in the rooms its a little iffy to say the least however it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Shumba Valley Lodge near Lanseria Airport. We have been wanting to go there for a while now as we have heard alot about it. I wasn't blown away by the lodge but we did enjoy our stay and will return again. The food was really great but I did find on the Saturday night they didn't cater correctly as there was a conference there and when we arrived for dinner all the buffet trays were empty so better planning is required on that side. So we decided to order a la Carte and we were very impressed with the food, well done! Also, the service was great, everything was done with a smile and were never unsatisfied in terms of service. One thing is we decided to lie by the pool for a bit and the loungers were very dirty and not comfortable at all, I think maybe better (new) loungers should be bought for the pool area. But besides this the staff and the food were excellent and the rooms were also clean and good.

Room Tip: Rooms furhter from the gate are best as you don't hear much noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Andy and his team at shumba really made us feel welcome. Rooms were comfortable, food was excellent and the location was perfect. We will definitely use this lodge again. We travel a lot and we love a place where we feel welcome and at home. Well done again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

As a travel agent dealing with hotels / lodges on a daily basis, Shumba Valley rates well below our office and clients standards. Emails are not acknowledged. Promises made, but never delivered. They do not offer refunds (so be forwarned - do NOT prepay).
There are MANY hotels and lodges within the area. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Terrible bathroom, shower glass stained, cracked basin, shower head literally close to wall almost impossible to shower, resort on septic tank so toilet flash as a horrible smell, really not much can be done at this place but a complete knock down and rebuild.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Shumba Lodge is an excellent place to stay.
Very near the Lanseria airport, 5 min by 100 zar cab.
The isolation is a bit decieving, as the highway & airport noise is backround.
The staff are very helpful, rooms are very nice and food is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shumba Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shumba Valley Lodge

Also Known As:
Shumba Valley Hotel Johannesburg
Address: R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shumba Valley Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travellers who seek the tranquillity of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel.Lanseria Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shumba Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shumba Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.