We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shumba Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shumba Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Shumba Valley Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Johannesburg
Blackburn,Lancashire,UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I flew into Johannesburg this weekend en-route to Mosambique and my office deided that rather travel all the way into town to have to drive out again to Lanseria Airport in the early hours of Monday that they would put me into the Shumba Valley Lodge which is just 5 mins drive from Lanseria.
Upon arriving at Johannesburg OR Tambo International I was met by one of the Emirates Airlines drivers who I had met previously and he assured me that I would like this place very much.
My arrival was mid morning on a Sunday so the place was pretty well deserted and it was a little cool in the Southern Hemisphere for sitting out in the sun. However my first impressions where very positive the place was like a very tranqil walled in village with around 70 thatched roof chalets and Rondavels plus various conference facilities and a Resturant and Bar area.
My accomadation was chalet number 92 and while it was quite small it was more than adequate the room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. All the bedding was ultra white and crisp and the towels large and fluffy.
The chalet had Tea & Coffee making facilities , free internet,Telephone,Colour Flat screen television with a selection of DSTV channels plus air con and heating.
I had an excellent buffet lunch and later a really good fillet steak for dinner and I couldn't fault either meal other than at dinner time they served me my starter and main course at the same time.
I hope to use this facility the next time I am traveling to Beira via Joburg highly recommended.

Room Tip: They clain that Internet is available in the rooms its a little iffy to say the least however it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Shumba Valley Lodge near Lanseria Airport. We have been wanting to go there for a while now as we have heard alot about it. I wasn't blown away by the lodge but we did enjoy our stay and will return again. The food was really great but I did find on the Saturday night they didn't cater correctly as there was a conference there and when we arrived for dinner all the buffet trays were empty so better planning is required on that side. So we decided to order a la Carte and we were very impressed with the food, well done! Also, the service was great, everything was done with a smile and were never unsatisfied in terms of service. One thing is we decided to lie by the pool for a bit and the loungers were very dirty and not comfortable at all, I think maybe better (new) loungers should be bought for the pool area. But besides this the staff and the food were excellent and the rooms were also clean and good.

Room Tip: Rooms furhter from the gate are best as you don't hear much noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnLaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Andy and his team at shumba really made us feel welcome. Rooms were comfortable, food was excellent and the location was perfect. We will definitely use this lodge again. We travel a lot and we love a place where we feel welcome and at home. Well done again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christophernaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

As a travel agent dealing with hotels / lodges on a daily basis, Shumba Valley rates well below our office and clients standards. Emails are not acknowledged. Promises made, but never delivered. They do not offer refunds (so be forwarned - do NOT prepay).
There are MANY hotels and lodges within the area. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronschwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Terrible bathroom, shower glass stained, cracked basin, shower head literally close to wall almost impossible to shower, resort on septic tank so toilet flash as a horrible smell, really not much can be done at this place but a complete knock down and rebuild.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregorynaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Shumba Lodge is an excellent place to stay.
Very near the Lanseria airport, 5 min by 100 zar cab.
The isolation is a bit decieving, as the highway & airport noise is backround.
The staff are very helpful, rooms are very nice and food is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugg787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

Shumba valley was a great place to stay. It was out of the city of Johannesburg and therefore it was very quiet. The staff were very friendly. They went out of their way to give the best possible service. The resort was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend a stay here for anyway who wants a quiet and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
6.7 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#5 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
22.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 6 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
5.1 mi away
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
#1 of 1 in Chartwell
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
22.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shumba Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shumba Valley Lodge

Address: R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Shumba Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shumba Valley Hotel Lodge is ideally located for conference, leisure and business travellers who seek the tranquillity of the countryside, whilst being within easy distance from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Shumba Valley Lodge is situated in Lanseria, one of Johannesburg's the northern suburbs. It is the ideal accommodation and conference venue for businesses in the northern Johannesburg suburbs of Sandton, Fourways, Lone Hill and Randburg. It is equally conveniently placed for access to Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Midrand and Pretoria; so if looking for accommodation or a conference venue in these areas consider the Shumba Valley Lodge hotel.Lanseria Airport is a mere 5 minutes drive from Shumba Valley Lodge and a 45 minute drive from Johannesburg’s OR Tambo International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Shumba Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shumba Valley Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing