We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at the Peech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peech Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Peech Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Second time at the Peech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We came back again - the hotel is clean and more minimalist in design than the similar range The Residence, a lot more restful on the eye and we'd probably stay here again instead. The grounds are extensive and you walk along a path through a garden to get to your room which gives a lovely sense of peaceful space which Jo'burg doesn't always offer...

The bistro is nice, the staff are pleasant - as we noticed last time, there is a slight pressure on you to tip (last time we had two porters carrying our (very light) bags which was unecssary; the breakfast is included in the room rate, but they still print you off a slip, presumably so you can tip the watier which is fine but a bit unusual, particualrly when it's a buffet so you're getting your food yourself and most places just take your room number if you don't have to pay for breakfast). We understand it's more common in SA to tip than at home but we've been to the country a number of times and this is definitely the hotel we've noticed it the most.

We haven't ever used the pool area as it was chilly but looks very nice. It's in a good spot and you can walk to Melrose Arch Mall, and after a while in JHB you do feel like walking! A nice hotel in a nice area and the staff at the front desk were helful in arranging tours and transfers and we'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Johannesburg. Also do a tour with Kearan from Queenie Tours, he's an interesting guy!

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the upstaird Garden Rooms, they're really lovely and you get your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have noted your comment about tipping and will address it promptly. We believe that tipping, whilst common in South Africa, should really be for exceptional service and not everyday tasks and I think we let you down there. I will be on the case to correct this! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    52
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
99
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the Peech hotel. We stayed as a quick one night layover after our flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg. We left the next morning for another flight to a game reserve near the Kruger so it was a brief stop. The rooms were very large, the staff were extremely pleasant, and the food at dinner and breakfast was amazing! The beds were also very comfortable. The heated towel rods in the bathroom was a big hit for the wife. The only problem we had was that the hotel is near the Melrose Arch area so its a bit of a drive from the airport if you have an early connection the next day but for us, it was worth the extra time to get there. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five days during the business trip to Johannesburg.

Hotel is very clean. Located at the safe and convenient location.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel provides inexpensive taxi. Taxi charge cab be included in the hotel bill.

Don't forget to visit the Office bar in the Greenside area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to having you to stay again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Peech after arriving in Johannesburg at that start of a South African holiday. The hotel is stylish and comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful; and the food is excellent. The hotel is a safe bet for anyone wanting a small hotel that's just a little bit different.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been in the Peech hotel during our last day of our African Honey Moon. The hotel is very nice, cozy and stylish but the must is the hotel restaurant without doubt the best meal of our 2 weeks honey moon! we had dinner there and I wish been there more days to try other dishes from the menu...! great job chef!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you appreciated their food! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Peech. We only have superlative compliments for the Peech. No advance payment was required by the boutique hotel. The receptionists and staff are very responsive, accommodating and assisting. They kept our luggage while we were in Kruger and booked all our transport needs. The location is ideal and close to dining areas such as Rosebank, Parktown, etc. and neighbor to a gym complex. The in-house food also surpassed our expectations. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Loved the electric blankets. My tiny complain is that ducks roused us from sleep early in the morning. Over-all, the facilities and service merit good value. We definitely recommend this to visitors looking for an accommodation in South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The 'ducks' are actually 'hadidas', a type of ibis, and they can be noisy at certain times of the year! Apologies. They are native to Joburg and protected but at least do help keep our garden free of snails etc. Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed four night here. I've been looked after very well. The surroundings, rooms, food, service is first class in a great setting. Away from the glitzy hotel environment. I loved it and will be saving for the next trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies for the sun lovers....of the winter sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peech Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.