We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peech Hotel to your Saves list
The Peech Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct Discount
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the Peech hotel. We stayed as a quick one night layover after our flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg. We left the next morning for another flight to a game reserve near the Kruger so it was a brief stop. The rooms were very large, the staff were extremely pleasant, and the food at dinner and breakfast was amazing! The beds were also very comfortable. The heated towel rods in the bathroom was a big hit for the wife. The only problem we had was that the hotel is near the Melrose Arch area so its a bit of a drive from the airport if you have an early connection the next day but for us, it was worth the extra time to get there. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    61
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
126
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed five days during the business trip to Johannesburg.

Hotel is very clean. Located at the safe and convenient location.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel provides inexpensive taxi. Taxi charge cab be included in the hotel bill.

Don't forget to visit the Office bar in the Greenside area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to having you to stay again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Peech after arriving in Johannesburg at that start of a South African holiday. The hotel is stylish and comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful; and the food is excellent. The hotel is a safe bet for anyone wanting a small hotel that's just a little bit different.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I have been in the Peech hotel during our last day of our African Honey Moon. The hotel is very nice, cozy and stylish but the must is the hotel restaurant without doubt the best meal of our 2 weeks honey moon! we had dinner there and I wish been there more days to try other dishes from the menu...! great job chef!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you appreciated their food! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Peech. We only have superlative compliments for the Peech. No advance payment was required by the boutique hotel. The receptionists and staff are very responsive, accommodating and assisting. They kept our luggage while we were in Kruger and booked all our transport needs. The location is ideal and close to dining areas such as Rosebank, Parktown, etc. and neighbor to a gym complex. The in-house food also surpassed our expectations. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Loved the electric blankets. My tiny complain is that ducks roused us from sleep early in the morning. Over-all, the facilities and service merit good value. We definitely recommend this to visitors looking for an accommodation in South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The 'ducks' are actually 'hadidas', a type of ibis, and they can be noisy at certain times of the year! Apologies. They are native to Joburg and protected but at least do help keep our garden free of snails etc. Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed four night here. I've been looked after very well. The surroundings, rooms, food, service is first class in a great setting. Away from the glitzy hotel environment. I loved it and will be saving for the next trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies for the sun lovers....of the winter sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

the Peech hotel on my doorstep in Birdhaven / Melrose WAS a charming suave and tantalising venue for cocktails and after work drinks. no order was too big or too small. the drinks were as sophisticated as the ambience and décor.

The tranquillity of the venue lent itself to soft idle banter as you savoured the snacks proffered to guests sipping on their drinks of choice.

the homemade fries were delicately cooked to a luscious crisp. the garden idyllically mirrored the original artworks on the walls and the friendly staff went out of their way to accommodate you.

alas on my last visit to the Peech we were advised that they have stopped serving drinks to the public…. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review & sorry that we no longer serve outside guests in our bistro. We plan to do so in the future but need to resolve an issue with our zoning with the city beforehand. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peech Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.