We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly boutique hotel at a classy suburb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peech Hotel to your Saves list
The Peech Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly boutique hotel at a classy suburb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this boutique hotel after our tiring but enjoyable safari trip. Our first good impression was the manucred garden and the home like layout of the 12 units. The staff were friendly and the food in the bistros is delicious and reasonably priced. The hotel is located at Melrose and about 20 minutes walk away from the upmarket Melrose Arch shopping centre. We took a taxi to the shopping centre as we didn't feel comfortable walking for that distance but I'm sure the local will tell you that it's safe to take a walk. There are plenty of good restaurants and specialist shops in Melrose Arch shopping centre. Prices at most restaurants are very reasonable. We found that this area is patronised by tourists. We feel that there are a couple of small issues that needed attention. First is the WIFI, although its free, we had no connection in our room which was on the first floor. Secondly, some of the staff were not familiar with the hotel facility and also not knowledgable about local tours. Finally, the return airport transfer arranged for us was quite expensive. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have noted the points you made regarding our WiFi and new staff and will endeavour to fix both in the coming week. I will also review our transfer prices with our supplier. It helps us alot to get a guests viewpoint as sometime we get too close to our product! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    67
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
144
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here in April and then in May while traveling in Africa. Wonderful, warm, friendly staff right down to the resident cat "Peaches". Small 16 unit boutique hotel with uncompromised attention to detail. I say this because when I returned for a second stay I was upgraded to the suite. The reason? They remembered that I enjoyed all the blooming flowers and this unit had the best view of the courtyard. The food served was 5 star and I had the best blueberry muffins I have ever eaten!

Room Tip: They are all good as they all face the courtyard. Beautiful artwork throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Peech for many times and will definitely be back again. Fantastic service, great spacious rooms (always stayed at the houses separate from main building), it is a lovely concept overall. The hotel cat is gorgeous too :-) James and his staff are there to make sure you have a great stay - the lobby with open fire is great place to sit in the evening with a glass of bubbles and they also offer a free wifi. This is a lovely gem of a hotel with very personable service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the separate buildings in the front are great with private balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I'll pass them on to the staff and peeches! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Peech after game viewing vacation and it was the perfect place at which to end our trip. The staff was extremely helpfull and the dining room was excellent. We had one of the suites and while this is not a suite in the traditional sense of he word it was quite comfortable. We could not have aked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to share them with the whole team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned from a business trip to Jo'burg and stayed 2 nights at The Peech. Loved the location, the small size of the hotel, so trendy. We had a room in the main house (number 1). Lovely views onto the garden. Drinks on the outside patio, followed by tete-a-tete dinner in the intimate-sized restaurant - great food! Lovely breakfasts, attentive and unobtrusive staff. I would love to stay here again, have a bit more free time and enjoy a glass of Chardonnay around the pool!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, best to stay in one of the garden rooms with private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass on to the staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel had the best bed I have ever slept on. The bathroom was very spacious and i was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room.

The staff were polite and room service was a delightful dish... Would love to stay here again.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to all our staff. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Peech Hotel twice during a recent stay in South Africa, before and after a safari at the Tanda Tula lodge. The Peech is a small boutique hotel in the Melrose area of Johannesburg about a fifteen minute walk from Melrose Arch, a larger complex of shops restaurants and hotels. It is very close too to the Wanderers Stadium and sports complex.

The hotel has well manicured grounds and well appointed rooms that are perfectly comfortable and offer all the home comforts that you would need. There is also a small bistro at the hotel that we dined at once during our visit - food was good and priced in line with the local area. Breakfasts are good with a wide range of options on the menu.

There were only two small issues that arose during our visit that are worthy of mention; firstly I did not feel that some of the reception staff were particularly knowledgeable about the local area when seeking advice about reservations and booking etc, Secondly the hotel uses a firm of private hire vehicles when you ask for a taxi; in our experience these were more expensive than using metered taxis (180R for a return trip to Melrose) - if you are a limited budget then you might do well to remember this as metered taxis are not generally offered by the reception desk.

Other than the those two small points I would recommend the Peech Hotel for a stay in Jo'burg

Room Tip: Ask for metered taxis f you do not want to pay over the odds for local trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I will look into our taxi prices with our supplier as they should be in line with regular cabs off the street - a bit of inflation may have crept in so we will check... We will also get our front desk staff orientated in the area as some of them are I admit new joinees. Thanks for letting us know! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, T4B, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peech Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.