We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Peech Hotel to your Saves list
The Peech Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in excellent gardens , central located to largest shopping centre and easy access . Food was great , staff very attentive would certainly use again. Well organised and well arranged.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to share it with all the team here. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    57
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
115
23
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for two separate nights at the beginning and end of a two week holiday in South Africa. It is a small, friendly hotel with very comfortable bedrooms, large en suite bathroom with full bath and walk in shower. All is modern, clean and attractive. The dining room offers excellent bistro style food and the staff are friendly and attentive. They were kind enough to let us keep our room till 5.00pm on the day we left at no extra charge as it was not booked for the next night. We would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them to the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed a night at the peech hotel as a stopover between flights. When collected at airport I wondered why our agents had booked us a hotel with a 30minute drive from the airport, but when we got there we were so glad they did. It's a lovely boutique hotel with beautiful gardens and a delightful ambience. The food was very good and inexpensive. The staff were very welcoming and pleasant and the room and bed were extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the iPod docking and the tv with all the sports channels. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a Johannesburg city stopover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to share them with our team here. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Peech Hotel is beautiful. When you walk out of reception, into the gardens
they literally take your breath away. Everything is so neat
and clean and beautifully laid out. The second best view is sitting in
the restaurant at the window and looking out at the gardens and the pool.

Regarding the accommodation, our room was spacious,
comfortable and very quiet. Loved the private patio outside the bedroom.
Enormous bathroom, with a large bath and a really large shower!!
On arriving at the restaurant for dinner, we were greeted by Oscar, who in no
time at all, had us seated at a table with the best view. Dinner was superb and
the service incredible. We had the pleasure of meeting Hilton who
was an absolute treat. He kept popping over to chat and went out of his way
to make us feel both welcomed and at home!

Everyone we came across was kind, courteous and very helpful
and even although the hotel was fully booked, it still remained
quiet and exceptionally peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed meeting Peeches,
the resident cat. Without a doubt, I would definitely return for another
visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I will be sure to share it with the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel offered a clean and spacious room, excellent front desk service, and very good food. The grounds are pretty, with a small pool and larger patio area that was nice when we went (during the summer).

The location isn't terrific because it's about half an hour from the airport and not too close to shops/restaurants, though there are some at Melrose nearby. We relied on our own arranged driver to get around, though the front desk could call cabs if needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not feel our location was right for you - we are in a residential area - and so away from the hussle and bussle of the city. I'm glad all else was good with your stay. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

What's great find. I lie - I had actually found it before, stayed and wrote just as glowing review. Again, I really couldn't have had a better time at the Peech. Staff friendly and attentive, great food and great decor. A very comfortable three days. To be repeated..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We really appreciate your review and I will be sure to share it with the team here. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Am writing this review from my room at the Peach. Great room--modern in feel and fairly big. Excellent and free wifi too, which is a real plus. The hotel is like a big house, with beautiful grounds. The rooms are separate villas on the grounds, which are really nicely maintained. Has the feel of a beautiful summer house kind of. The room itself is a combo of modern (cement floor) with some African art. Great bathrooms with large bathtub and separate shower with the rain shower head. The people at the hotel are very very nice and accomodating. Will stay here again-thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback - I will be sure to share it with the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#5 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Escapio, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peech Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.