We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amakoekoe Guest House

Amakoekoe Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amakoekoe Guest House to your Saves list
Amakoekoe Guest House
Apple Street | Honeydew, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 270 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week for business as staff was very friendly. Great breakfast and the artistic touches by the owners was nice. Close to a major road, noise is not too bad. Clean, would come back again. The owners wife has a shop selling some of her designs. Nice touch and good security. Internet could be better, however this is a South African issue and not the hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very good accommodation in the center of a large city. It is really neat, clean and fantastic staff. Good value for money all round.
near to all the business i had to to and easily accessible. good security control.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here en route to Madikwe game reserve and although quite close to a major road the noise was not an issue overnight. The room had a small kitchenette which was useful and overall the accommodation was very good. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Food was good with an excellent choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg,North
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was there this weekend for a day but the guy at the reception area his not friendly at all hes too whitey i guess,so Mr Koekemoer u not good for a guest house u need to put smile on ur face we dont wanna know how long ur day were,we want to feel welcomed at all the time so please do something with this guy,he needs to change his attitude,and polish his shoes everyday when coming to work,the noise its terrible when guests come to their rooms at night its noisy they talk loud,with high heels and loud music so wasnt happy at all.and whats with all the dogs OMG i couldnt even go to eat because of the treatment so just close this guest house its expensive for nothing,i will NEVER go there again NEVER

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We certainly do not mind criticism as this can only help us to improve our service - which we feel is already of a very high standard - but we do mind when the criticism is of a personal or racialistic nature. The fact that the on duty person's shoes were dirty and that he was white has absolutely nothing to do with what Amakoekoe has to offer. Due to the nature of our industry, our staff do work long hours and dusty shoes are sure to follow!
Regarding guests coming into the guest house in high heels - we can hardly prescribe to our guests what type of shoes to wear so we feel this criticism is uncalled for. We do not believe that there was loud music as none of the rooms have radios or music systems. With reference to the dogs - these are two small dogs and we would certainly have removed them had you requested this. We do not understand the statement "because of the treatment" - please be more specific. Please feel free to drop us an email with specific complaints and we will happily follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

i spent two days at the guest house, the pros are the location with regards to close proximity to shopping areas and the breakfast was yummy. The cons are definately the dogs in the dining room while we were eating, we asked to have the dogs removed and they could not do so...i love dogs but not in the dining room. service can also be improved. a 3 star for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlamalani_Phephenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review Amakoekoe Guest Lodge.
We are sorry to hear that there were certain things that was not to your satisfaction. It is a fact that the majority of Guests enjoy having the two doggies around - it makes them feel at home!
However, it is not possible to always please 100% of our Guests 100% of the time!
We know that our service is of the highest standard and would like for you to kindly drop us an email so that we can establish what it was that you did not enjoy about our service - this way, we can try and avoid whatever it was, in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here in a Type B room with another person. Nice place, good variety in breakfast, cordial staff. Only a small concern - the kitchen area is bit small if you plan to stay for long duration. Best rooms are those which have balcony facing the lawns... The morning sunrise is just awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your positive review!
Unfortunately we were unable to respond sooner due to a technical problem.
In answer to your concern about the kitchen being a bit small, it is to be noted that we are not a self catering establishment and the kitchenette is there purely as a convenience to our Guests. It is not meant for creating big meals, but we are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Few of us had stayed in a 3-bed room and a 2-bed room. We also saw their 1-bed room. the 1 and 2 bed are ok for upto 2 people (prefer the 1 bed). Good verandah, beautiful lawn and good breakfast.
The 3 bed option is good only for family - not for all working people, mainly since their is just one toilet/bath. Kitchen is quite compact adjacent to the beds - that's one negative. It should have some more space for cooking/cutting etc.
Their prices are a somewhat higher for all the above.
- Prashant Karandikar

Room Tip: prefer 1-bed or 2-bed rooms - single occupancy is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review our establishment!
The small kitchenette was added to all rooms as an added convenience to our Guests - as we are not a self catering establishment, it serves purely as a space where you can prepare a pre-cooked meal which can be warmed in the Microwave oven provided or have tea/coffee.
While the single sleepers are preferable to most, the 2/3 sleepers serve as a cost cutting arrangement - especially where big groups are involved. Thanks again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
9.4 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#46 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Lanseria
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
23.0 mi away
Ponciana Superior Guesthouse
Ponciana Superior Guesthouse
#2 of 30 in Hartbeespoort
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
9.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
9.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakoekoe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakoekoe Guest House

Address: Apple Street | Honeydew, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amakoekoe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing